The Why of Blogging

June 10, 2007 at 9:08 pm (Uncategorized)

Chilihead is hosting a Blogging Carnival on why you blog so I thought I’d join in.

How did you start blogging? Mostly it was because our pastor, and hubby’s boss, wanted to start a blog and I was the web person so it was my job to figure out what software to use, etc. I figured that hands-on research was best so I started a blogger account. It was July 2005. There was also the fact that I was bored. We were in the middle of moving and living out of suitcases, shuffling between my parents house, friend’s house, back to parents house, etc. We had 3 weeks before our new house was ready. So I had time on my hands.

Did you intend
to be a blog w/a big following? If so, how did you go about it?
I didn’t and I don’t have one. For awhile I was a little obsessed with my traffic but then I realized that was a little ridiculous.

What do you hope to achieve or accomplish with your blog?
Have you been successful? If not, do you have a plan to achieve those
goals?
My main purpose in starting the blog was just to keep up with friends and family on what we were doing. I have several out-of-state friends, family in CA, AR, CO and of course, England. It’s an easy way for them to catch up. The second goal was just to get writing again. I love to write and haven’t done much of it in the last few years. I’m not sure that I’ve done much "in-depth" writing here that I would consider a good use of my skills, but at least it’s something.

Has the focus of your blog changed since you started blogging? How?  It’s still just mostly about our daily life. I think through the different blogs I read I’ve started to include a variety of things in my blog. It’s funny that as I go through my day I’ll think "Now, that would make a good blog post." Of course, rarely do I remember that later when I’m staring at a blank post box.

What do you know now that you wish you’d known when you started? How addicting it would become.

Do you
make money with your blog?
No, I don’t try.

Does your immediate or extended family know about your blog? If so, do they read it? If not, why? Yes. My MIL and SIL are faithful readers. My parents read periodically (and then have to catch up). One brother reads it sporadically. I’m not sure if Brad does or not. I’m not sure about extended family (if they do they never comment).

What two pieces of advice would you give to a new blogger? Just do it. Post semi-regularly so people will keep coming back. Comment on other blogs you like to introduce yourself.

If you write your own blogging story, head to Chilihead’s and add yourself to her Mr. Linky.

 

23 Comments

  1. Pam at Kids Kitchen said,

    Your advise sounds exactly like mine! Had fun reading your blogging story!

  2. Tina said,

    I think I would like to start blogging but not even sure How to go about it. Think I could use your assistance?

  3. chilihead said,

    Desert Diva! Yay! I was so happy to see you on Mr. Linky. Thanks for sharing your story. Love the banner, btw.

  4. Stacey said,

    I think it’s awesome that you started a blog… you got me going on one and now everyone has one! It’s amazing just how fun and addicting it can be though.

    I love your blog and always look for the updates!!

  5. ADDIE said,

    Thank you for sharing your story. Why not come over and read my blogging story too!!! I have also posted a blogging story!!!

  6. Lawanda said,

    I am always thinking up great posts at 3am. I mean I think up GREAT award winning posts! But I am always too lazy to get up and type them, and I never remember them in the morning. 😉

  7. Lawanda said,

    Oh, and I think your blog is gorgeous!

  8. Jennifer, Snapshot said,

    Great advice, and it sounds like you have a really great perspective on it all.

  9. Lissete said,

    Hi! I enjoyed reading your story. I also blog about my daily life. There was a time when I would also obsess about traffic but I got over it real quick too. 🙂

  10. ashley@twentysixcats said,

    Amen about blogging being addictive!! I blog a thousand posts in my head, and about 1% of those actually make it to my blog. 🙂

  11. TaunaLen said,

    Some great advice here. I enjoyed reading your blogging story.

    ~TaunaLen

  12. Deena said,

    This is such fun! I’m finding out about other blogs…and it’s a great, big bloggy world out there! Hope to see you again!

  13. Shalee said,

    I think it’s fantastic that you started blogging because you were setting someone else up in the blog world. If that’s not unique, then I don’t know what is!

    And I love the banner. It has that classy, old western feel.

  14. shelly said,

    Hello, I was participating in the “circus” and followed your link. Pretty blog, and I liked what you had to say. Nice to meet you!

  15. Awesome Mom said,

    I have a hard time remembering the amazing posts that I write in my head too.

  16. Brooke said,

    Goodness, I have never gone through those questions about blogging. I am shocked that I didn’t even know I would answer them. To me, Blogging is fun and a venting way to express the good’s and bad’s in my life. I love it!!

  17. My Quotidian Mysteries (Laura) said,

    I’m addicted myself! You’ve got a great site here, and I’m delighted to meet you via Chilihead’s carnival!

  18. Clemntine said,

    What a lovely blog! And isn’t it a challenge to read and post enough to enjoy it, without letting it take up the time that needs to be spent elsewhere? Or maybe that’s just me…

  19. stacey said,

    I am glad to visit! Cute site!

  20. Robin Sampson said,

    The current theme I see is people starting to share with family then growing. neat–I love it. Thanks for sharing your blogging story.

  21. Melissa said,

    I enjoyed reading your story!

  22. GiBee said,

    You know … I find many people say the same thing… “I just wanted to get back to writing.” It’s a common thread among the bloggers!

  23. Jenny said,

    I’m so glad you know I am a faithful reader even if I’m not as faithful at responding to your posts! And I really do enjoy hearing about all that is happening. I wish I did have more time to blog so you can all know what is happening with me!
    Love you! jen

Leave a comment