Got meat?

September 7, 2008 at 10:14 pm (Home, Money)

One of the best purchases we made was buying a used chest freezer several years ago. I can’t remember but I think we paid something like $125 for it.

With the addition of 2 more kids this is going to become even more crucial. Because, you see, I hate to go grocery shopping more than a couple times a month.

So I’ll be buying like 8 loaves of bread at a time.

It’s also great when you meat goes on sale. When boneless, skinless chicken breasts go on sale for $1.69/lb I buy like 5 packages.

A few weeks ago I bought 40 lbs of hamburger.

Yes, you read that right… 40 lbs.

It was $1/lb.

Not going to pass that up.

I rebagged the hamburger using this trick I learned from someone’s WFMW.

2 Comments

  1. cpg said,

    That was so cool when I was there a few weeks ago and used a couple pounds of your hamburger. It really did thaw fast even in the fridge.

  2. stacey said,

    40 pounds of hamburger! That sounds like so much but with a family of 4 and soon to be 6, you’ll be cooking right through it. It’s amazing how much kids can put away at this age :o)

Leave a Reply

