WFMW: Waking up Grumpy

September 2, 2008 at 9:22 pm (Uncategorized)

Today is backwards edition of WFMW in which we get to ask for advice. So here’s mine.

My almost 9 year old son definitely takes after me in the morning grumps department. It took hubby abou 12 years to learn that he just shouldn’t talk to me until I’ve had my shower. But since we do kids baths at night, that doesn’t help.

It takes about 20 minutes for him to really get going and yes, I could wake him up 20 minutes early but unless I just let him sit on the coach under a blanket, he annoys and grumps at everyone else and then we’re all miserable.

So any ideas for getting grumpy kids to be nice in the morning?

Back to Shannon’s for more WFMW.

14 Comments

  1. Cheryl said,

    Does he need more sleep? Puberty is near and that might be one of his issues.

    One of my kids tends to really like her sleep. We have an agreement that she must get up and can come have breakfast alone and read the paper or comics, giving her time to really wake up before she has to converse with the rest of us. By the time she is finished eating, she is usually ready to get moving and be more sociable.

  2. Cindy said,

    More sleep was my suggestion too…put him to bed 30 minutes earlier and see if that helps.

  3. jgumm said,

    His bedtime is 8 or 8:30 which I think is pretty good for a kid his age. And we are pretty adamant about it so he’s getting 9-10 hours of sleep.

    And of course when it’s Saturday and he can wake up on his own, he springs out of bed 🙂

    I like the breakfast alone/reading idea. Keep ’em coming!

  4. Mommaofmany said,

    Perhaps, since his morning grumpiness is mostly an attitude choice (as evidenced by Saturdays!), he could have to go to bed a half hour earlier when he acts grumpy. If it repeats the next night, 1/2 hour again. When he’s going to bed at 6 PM, perhaps he’ll change his attitude and earn back the 8-8:30 time.

    Remind him of Col.:17: And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.

    Waking in the morning is a gift!

  5. TransitionGirl said,

    I’m exactly like your son. Don’t bother me for the first 20 mins after I wake up and everything will be fine and dandy. I think the best thing is to set an agreement with your son. In the morning, you’ll give him some space for maybe 20 mins, and then he has to stop grumbling and start socializing after.

  6. Beth@sportsmomma said,

    I was thinking along the same lines as Mommaofmany. My 10 yr old was the worlds worst grump in the mornings. I seriously dreaded mornings around here last year (and the many years prior). This year has been almost a complete 180! Here’s the difference.

    1. He has an alarm that wakes him up in the mornings now. He said I didn’t “wake him up enough”. So now his iPod goes off very loudly at 6:20 and he’s up and completely dressed in 5 min. It’s been amazing!

    2. We’ve started letting him set his own bedtime (within reason). Mostly he goes to bed between 8:30 and 9:00. BUT if he gives me a hard time in the mornings- it’s pushed back 15 min. for that night.

    3. prayer, prayer, prayer!!!!! Hee Hee! Nothings keeps the devil from ruining the morning like praying him right out of your house!!

    Best of Luck!

  7. Milehimama said,

    My son has always had issues getting up. He’s 10 now, and homeschooled THIS year, so I let him get up naturally. But the last three years the bus came for him at 6 am – brutal!

    We simplified the morning routine ONLY to the most essentials.

    I let him bathe and change into school clothes at night. In the AM, all he has to do is put his shoes on. We cut his hair short to keeping grooming to a minimum. And on very tough days, I slip him a PB sandwich or granola bar for breakfast.

  8. fullofboys said,

    I have one of those boys at my house! What about an alarm clock? Let him pick it out and let him turn it on each night. It might help him feel like it is more his choice to get up rather than being forced to wake up.

  9. twomoms said,

    my daughter has always been a grump in the am it started in kindergarden until I realized that all it took was a shower in the morning, so now she gets up at 7am showers dresses, gets her school stuff ready and comes down stairs a happy little person (she is now in 4th grade) You said that you cant be bothered until after you took a shower, maybe he is the same?

  10. Sherry said,

    I’m going to take some of these for my own grumps. LOL!

  11. Llama Momma said,

    My first thought? More sleep! When they go through growth spurts, they need more. Try an earlier bedtime and see if it helps!

    (My boys are 6.5 and need somewhere between 10-13 hours of sleep. Right now, they go to bed at 7, asleep by 7:30, and get up at 7. Crazy…but it’s working!)

  12. Superchikk said,

    Ok, I am a total grump when it comes to getting up, and I totally understand needing some space and time to wake up.

    Maybe you can give him 15 minutes to wake up, then after that he has to participate with the rest of the family without being grumpy or he receives some sort of consequences. Maybe an extra chore after school or something.

  13. stacey said,

    I was going to suggest his own alarm clock, too. Josh has really been wanting one of his own because he doesn’t like me waking him up. I saw this really cool one on the Today show but I can’t find a link for it. It basically rolls around on the floor until they get out of bed and shut it off. At that point they are already up!

    I like the breakfast alone idea, too!

  14. mark said,

    2-3 cups of coffee does the trick for me, even without the shower.
    I do recall him doing better last year when he was showering in the morning. maybe we should make that mandatory. The alarm to the ipod may work –
    I think its a choice/bad habit mostly, as when I went in this morning to see what he was doing he was listening to CDs just fine and wide awake playing legos.

Leave a Reply

