Surprising a Control Freak

August 23, 2008 at 10:33 pm (Uncategorized)

So last Thursday was our 15th anniversary and Mark came to work and took me to lunch – even let me pick Chinese food which is usually not his first choice.

During lunch he said “So do you want to know what your surprise is?” Which I thought meant “I can’t stand not telling you.”  But it didn’t but he felt he needed to sort of tell me.

“You just need to be done with work for the week by Wednesday at 3.”

Hmmmm….

And that is where he left me. Now, don’t get me wrong, I LOVE surprises. I’m just a bit of a control freak so not knowing what is going on for 6 days drives me batty. But he was right. I definitely need to know that so I could have work projects done before that time.

I think I was fairly well under control. I did need to ask a few questions like “Do I need to pack?” (Yes). “Will we be gone through Sunday?” (Yes). “Do I need to pack my toiletries in 3 oz bottles?” (No).

He had arranged for MeeMaw to come stay with the kids. I got home from work about 3:15 and we were out the door by 4:20.

I had pretty much narrowed it down to either going to a resort on the East side of town (they have great deals in the summer) or somewhere in California.

It only took about 5 minutes til we got on the freeway going West that I realized we were headed to California. He tried to convince me that we were going to Gila Bend to the Space Age Lodge (funny family story) but I wasn’t buying it.

So we ended up in Huntington Beach. My honey knows how I love the beach! We spent some time at the beach on Thursday, Dave & Busters that night, some thrift store shopping, movie, lunch at Ruby’s on the pier and some relaxing time at the hotel.

It’s been fun to get away. We always have such a good time when we’re away together. I’m not really looking forward to going back to the heat.

2 Comments

  1. Susie said,

    What a nice surprise! I couldn’t handle it….I hate surprises! Glad you’re having a good time together!!

  2. stacey said,

    Sounds like fun! What a great hubby to surprise you for a getaway like that!

Leave a Reply

