The Things We Keep

July 9, 2008 at 11:06 pm (Home)

I mentioned yesterday that I am very big into doing periodic purges. I usually have a box somewhere in the house that is being filled with stuff for Goodwill. I go through my clothes at least 2 times a year.

I totally love shows like Clean Sweep where they come in and go through people’s things. They really make them think about why they’re hanging on to stuff.

A few months ago my mother-in-law was cleaning out her mom’s house (which they have moved into to help take care of her) and found this…

Curious what is inside? So was I.

Those would be the aluminum cans that were tied to the back of our car on our wedding night. Complete with the string.

Saved for nearly 15 years.

P.S. The date on the bag was off by 5 months.

6 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    That is too funny! I can’t believe they saved them all that time.

  2. Susie said,

    How funny! She obviously thought the world of you two and valued it as a precious keepsake! Don’t you wonder what our kids and grandkids will say about us some day when they go through the things we’ve cherished and held on to?

  3. Kelley said,

    Hilarious. And sweet. Just like Mark’s grandparents. Love them.

  4. Michelle said,

    So…are you gonna keep them?

  5. jgumm said,

    Um no Michelle, they got thrown out right after I took the picture 🙂

  6. Mark said,

    You threw those out?! I was thinking about going back to my college dorm days where I superglued everything you could imaging to the walls as decoration. I know I have some pics of that somewhere… Oh wait, you probably threw those out too.
    Oh well.
    I’m just surprised that dad didn’t keep those – maybe he did and they ended up at grandma’s somehow??.

Leave a Reply

