Dish Towel Moment

June 30, 2008 at 1:11 pm (Uncategorized)

Have you heard the expression “dish towel moment”? I can’t remember who first introduced the phrase to me. I want to say it was Kristen but I’m not sure.

A “dish towel moment” is when you are so embarrassed for the person on television that you want to cover your face with a dish towel. I think maybe it assumes your folding laundry, but whatever.

Well last night was one such moment.

The last two seasons I have been a faithful viewer of HGTV’s Design Star but somehow it alluded me this season until last night when I caught the last 40 minutes of the show. One contestant, Michael, was sure that he was going to be the next Design Star. There’s always one in the bunch who is convinced he/she is destined for greatness. (I don’t think they ever actually win.)

Last night’s episode had each designer creating a room based on a country. Michael actually got first pick and chose Spain, somewhere he apparently had spent some time. So I’m not sure how he thought this looked anything like a nightclub in Barcelona.

To make a long story short after the judges initial comments the contestants are sent to the green room and it is there that Michael’s tears started flowing. By the time he realized he was in the bottom 3 he was crying and repeating “I’m so sorry” like he had personally disappointed all the judges.

The dish towel moment began there. It got even more painful when he was booted and during his “exit” said he was sorry he’d disappointed his mom. That quickly dissolved into “I want my mom” over and over again.

I had to turn it off, it was that painful. It was more like a beach towel moment.

UPDATED: I found video!

3 Comments

  1. Susie said,

    Okay, you’ve peeked my curiosity but the link doesn’t work (at least it didn’t for me). I’m curious to see what he did!

  2. Stacey said,

    That is too funny! He was seriously saying “I want my Mommy?” What got into him?

  3. Susie said,

    I could see why he was embarassed! I want my mommy…was he serious? I’m not sure which he needs more, interior design school or intense counseling! 🙂

Leave a Reply

