Carb overload

June 7, 2008 at 3:36 pm (Home) (, )

So years and years ago (like before my children were born I think) my brother gave me a breadmaker for Christmas. It was something I’d wanted for a long time. I promptly made two loaves of bread. Then it went on a shelf.

A couple months ago when we were going through the house, weeding out things for the adoption garage sale I came across it. I stared at it, trying to decide what to do.

You see I have wonderful memories of homemade bread growing up. For years my mom made all our bread, without the luxury of a breadmaking machine.

So I decided to keep it but told myself that if I didn’t make bread in the next 6 months I would sell it.

So I finally got to the store and bought bread flour, yeast, etc. Last night I made a loaf of whole wheat bread. There is nothing like fresh, warm bread with butter. Yum!

I’ve got a loaf of Italian Cheese Bread going now for our Spaghetti dinner tomorrow after church.

8 Comments

  1. Michelle said,

    Hey, try making pizza dough with it! I make it for the kids all the time. They get a kick outta putting on their own sauce, cheese, toppings, etc. I have even made a few batches of pizza dough and froze it for the future. -Mick

  2. cpg said,

    I’ll take the whole wheat bread and the rest of you can have the Italian stuff. I love homemade bread although I didn’t have it growing up. I just aquired the taste through the years. (Just kidding I would love to try the Italian bread too)

  3. Mark said,

    Too bad it will all be gone by breakfast tomorrow.

  4. Kelley said,

    I just made pizza dough last night in my breadmaker. It was the first time I’ve used it in quite a while. But my friend Holly gave me some freshly-milled flour last week, so I’ve been trying to use it in different recipes to see how we like it.

  5. Kelsey said,

    That looks so good!

  6. Andrea said,

    I use mine to make dough and then use it to make bread or buns or whatever and then bake the old fashioned way. Except when it’s like 100 degrees out!

  7. green3 said,

    I’m with Andrea. I use it to make dough all the time. I never actually bake the bread in there. If you want some of my recipes, let me know and I’ll forward them to you!

  8. Stacey said,

    Looks pretty tasty!

Leave a Reply

