More on the “girl stuff”

May 21, 2008 at 8:28 am (Uncategorized)

So my surgery went extremely well yesterday. The hardest part was being hungry in the morning (nothing after midnight Mon) which didn’t help my headache. We arrived at the outpatient surgery center around 11:30 and went through the check in process then waited just about 15 minutes before they took me back to get ready. My favorite part was the paper booties – HA!

The put an IV line in with some saline and then right before they wheeled me back they gave me something to relax me. I remember getting from the gurney/bed to the operating table, the doc putting the mask on and then the nurse, my doc and the anesthesiologist (all women) talking about who would win American Idol last night.

The next thing I remember was waking up in recovery – covered up all cozy, even with a blanket or something around my head. The recovery nurse was talking to me about something, asked if I wanted a drink (apple juice) and if I was cramping. It was not so much my stomach as the time as it was going down my legs (which I often get w/ menstrual cramps) so he gave me some LOVELY Demerol 🙂 Mark came back, he went over the pre-op stuff with him then I got dressed and they wheeled me out. I kind of dozed on they way home and went to bed when we did get home – slept until about 6:15.

Stacey brought a really yummy dinner that I totally scarfed – I was sooo hungry!

I’ve only had to take ibuprofen up to this point and it has managed the cramping well. This morning I haven’t even taken anything yet so maybe I am past the worst of it.

Thanks for all your prayers!

3 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    Agh, I’ve been so busy this week I didn’t check in to see that you were having this proceedure. I am glad you seem to be doing well. I pray it ocntinues and you heal quickly!

  2. Michelle said,

    what was for dinner? You said it was yummy, but didn’t way what it was – suspense!

  3. Stacey said,

    So glad you’re feeling good and recovering nicely! Hang in there and let me know if you need anything else :o)

Leave a Reply

