The post that talks about “girl stuff”

May 17, 2008 at 11:29 am (Uncategorized) ()

If you’re a guy (and I’m not sure I have many guy readers) you may want to just skip this post because it talks about girl stuff. You know the kind that makes you squirm, stick your fingers in your ears and say “la, la, la I’m not listening”.

Gone? Ok, good.

This Tuesday I am going in for outpatient surgery to have an endometrial ablation. Endometrial ablation is a procedure that uses an instrument to destroy (ablate) the uterine lining, or endometrium. You can go here to read more about it.

I decided to go ahead and post about this whole adventure because when I was trying to make a decision I tried to find experiences of other women who have done it, and I didn’t have any luck. So maybe this will be helpful to others who are thinking about it.

There are several ablation methods that can be used (see the link above). Some offices will do the procedure right in the office but I am having mine done at an outpatient surgery center. It’s the way my ob/gyn prefers just in case there was some complication, then we are already someplace she can take care of it.

The reason I am having it done is that somewhere around the age of 33 my body decide to just go whacky. Instead of my somewhat already long periods lasting 5-7 days, they were last more like 12-15 days with some days of extremely heavy bleeding.

My doctor and I discussed my options which were basically 1) progesterone cream during certain parts of my cycle to help regulate 2) birth control pills 3) an eblation.

Because my cycles are extremely irregular the progesterone cream was not really a viable option. I did not want to go back on birth control pills because a) they give me migraines and b) it seemed like a waste when hubby has had a vasectomy (which we did SO I could get off the bcp).

She gave me some literature so I could look it over and in the mean time I went ahead and went back on the pill until I could decide a long term plan.

That was a year ago πŸ™‚ It took me awhile, I guess to make my decision. For obvious reasons, you can’t have more children after an ablation. Obviously we wouldn’t be having any more kids anyways unless God decided to do something miraculous, but it was just something to mull over for a bit.

Somehow, our adoption, seemed to give me the closure I needed. At this point any additional kids we have are not coming out of my uterus πŸ™‚

So Tuesday is the big day. The procedure itself takes about 90 seconds. From going under to being ready to go home is supposedly about 90 minutes. Recovery time can be anywhere from 2 days to 2 weeks. I’m going to be off work for about a week (doing some work from home). The worst part is just the cramping that comes afterward. Can’t be any worse than labor can it?

Oh, wait, I had an epidural for those. Do you think they’d send me home with one?

4 Comments

  1. Brooke said,

    Hey, My mom had this procedure done about ten years ago. She said it was the best thing that she has ever done. It took awhile for her to decide, as well, but she was glad that she did. I think she was awake too, but it wasn’t bad.
    I will pray that you have great results really soon.

  2. Jenny said,

    We’ll be praying for you tomorrow and the procedure to go smoothly. Love you!

  3. Stacey said,

    I can’t wait to hear if it works well for you or not. It sounds like such an easy procedure. I’ll be praying for you. Don’t worry, I remembered I’m bringing dinner, too. I’m working on finding someone for Wednesday evening. Hang in there!

  4. bookgirl76 said,

    Julie! I have the same problem! My doctor recommended the same procedure but it scared me. What do you think? Are there any hormonal side effects?

Leave a Reply

