The article in which I sound “really, really” smart…NOT

March 20, 2008 at 7:07 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

So I told you about the Spring Carnival right? Well part of my job at the church was sending out press releases to the media etc. On Monday I got a call from an Arizona Republic reporter with some follow up questions on the event. About midway through my conversation I realize I hear her frantically typing in the background. And a lightbulb goes on in my head. She could be quoting any part of this conversation – am I sounding like an idiot?

Apparently…. 

My  personal favorite…

“The kids went out and got the eggs,” said Julie Gumm…” Duh! (In my defense I can’t believe they used that as a quote. I said lots more interesting stuff, like….)

“We had a really, really good turnout.”  Not just good…really, really good.

So now in the office everything is “really, really”. Wonder how long that’s going to last 🙂

My boss likes the part where I said “The response was even bigger than we expected,” she said. “Next year we’ll do it up even bigger.”

I think that will be coming out of my paycheck!

4 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    That is too funny! I’m really, really glad you shared that with all of us :o)

  2. Susie said,

    Nothing like keeping you on your toes (and humble)! I have to say, I’m glad to know you’re “normal”. Enjoy the step down off the pedestal we all had you on but I’m sure you’ll be right back up there before long! At least until the next interview. 🙂

  3. Mark said,

    In case you don’t know by now, they will NEVER let it go. It’s part of the fun – I really, really miss being in on those precious moments around the office, but I have a few I can share with you if you ever need any ammo (although they have a few on me too – Cheese, need I say more.)

  4. kristen piver said,

    Don’t give that interview mess another thought. I have seen some horrendous TV interviews before and the quotes of yours are nothin! I prefer to agree with you on the writer’s choice of quotes…she is the one who comes out “really really” idiotic!

Leave a Reply

