WFMW: Using Up Old Bananas

February 19, 2008 at 9:01 pm (Works For Me Wednesday)

Wfmwheader_2I’m republishing my most popular WFMW – one that still gets people here via google….

I thought that everybody knew this trick but in talking with some
ladies lately I discovered that it just ain’t so, so here it is.

If you’re like me we often end up with one or two bananas in the
bunch that go bad before we eat them. Really once they starting turning
brown on the outside my kids refuse to eat them no matter what they
actually are like on the inside.

But overripe bananas are AWESOME for cooking. So take those old
bananas and toss them in the freezer for a later baking episode. There
are two ways two do this. First, you can throw them in a gallon Ziploc
bag still in the peel. Then when you’re baking something you can
usually pry out the number of bananas you need (you can always do a
quick partial defrost in the freezer if you can’t separate them).  Then
when they are thawed you split open the peel at the bottom and then
just kind of  squish out the banana.

If that seems a little gross to you then you can peel them before
you freeze and freeze them in quart size bags – usually 3-4 bananas to
a bag. At least that seems to be what my two favorite recipes call for.

As a bonus I’ll even give you the two favorite recipes:

Chocolate-Bottom Banana Squares – super yummy, not super sweet and don’t even have a strong banana flavor

Super Easy Banana Bread Recipe
1 c. sugar
1 1/2 c. baking mix (i.e. Bisquick or generic)
2 egg whites, gently beaten
3-4 mashed bananas
1/4 c. chopped nuts (optional).

Combine sugar and baking mix. Add egg whites and bananas. Stir. Ad nuts. Pour into greased loaf pan. Bake 1 hour at 325 degrees.

Back to Shannon’s for more ideas.

6 Comments

  1. Jack's Mommy said,

    i love this tip – i feel silly for not peeling first now (haha). I’m one of those who can’t stomach the thought of eating a dark skinned banana. I use to throw the older ones in the fridge with skin on, but would always throw them away instead of using them (because the skin still looks gross in the freezer).

    Peeling and ziplocking them shoulda been a no-brainer. Duh to me. 🙂 thanks!

  2. What About Mom? said,

    I love bananas that are super-freckly, but before those freckles all run together.

    Another great thing to make with frozen bananas is Shrek Shakes. They’re how I got my kids to LOVE spinach. As Sally says, “It’s got gross stuff in it, but it still tastes great.” Pretty mature for a 7 yr old, huh?

  3. Infinity Goods said,

    Oh, you can add them to smoothies too. It helps with the consistency. If you check Jamba Juice, you’ll see they add bananas to all their smoothies, regardless of flavor.

  4. Michelle said,

    This recipe came at the perfect time…I have some bananas I need to use up or throw out. Now I can use them up. thanks!

  5. Britni said,

    Do you have to peel the bananas?

  6. Julie Stiles Mills said,

    I do this all the time! I run water over the frozen bananas for a few minutes, tear open the bottom and squeeze. It kinda reminds me of squeezing toothpaste out of a tube.

Leave a Reply

