At Last…My Patio

January 2, 2008 at 7:01 pm (Home)

I generally like home improvement projects. But every once in awhile I bite off more than I can chew.

Such was the case with 220 sq. ft of pavers that I bought over a year ago to extend our patio and make a nice little area next to our spa.

The pavers were delivered and sat…and sat. Then it was too hot to do anything. Then one day I went out, determined to start carving out the area of dirt. Ha! About 10 minutes later as I surveyed the area I had done – and looked at the remaining area I realized that I was in WAY over my head.

I quickly realized that it was time to call in the professionals. And then I promptly got busy with too many other things to actually look for said professional – reasonably priced.

Then thankfully, it’s Art to the rescue. Art is my friend Stacey’s dad. In our last house he put doors on our office and playroom for us and reconfigured our built in media niche. He is a home improvement genius! When we first ordered the pavers both he and his wife and Stacey and Jeff had moved and so he had a long list of projects to do at their places.

About two months ago he asked me if I still had the pavers waiting – I embarrassingly admitted "Yes" and he said he had some time to do some side jobs. Then his beautiful wife Susie (who is also our realtor) was diagnosed with breast cancer. So he’s been seeing her through two surgeries and the first two (of four) rounds of chemotherapy. Somehow he managed to squeeze us in and he spent 4 days this week working on our patio.

It looks gorgeous and it was done meticulously – the border put in cement, intricate corners. WAY better than we EVER would have done it! Thanks Art! (And thanks Susie for loaning him to us!)

Of course now I’m looking around and thinking I should really get to all that other stuff on my "backyard" list 🙂

Patio

4 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    WOW that looks amazing! Art did a great job!! I am glad you were able to check that one off the list. What’s the news on the fence for the spa? Will the state require you to have it in place? Not to put the pressure on or anything! hahahaha

  2. Stacey said,

    Looking good! I think that “professional” you hired is a pretty great guy! We should keep him around for sure :o)

  3. Kelley said,

    That looks awesome, Julie! I wish I could come over and take a soak… I’m FREEZING here in Atlanta!

  4. Susie said,

    I’m glad he was able to get it done for you, finally! I enjoyed hearing the stories about Noah helping and Natie checking on him! 🙂 How cute! Now it’s time for you and Mark to kick off your shoes and enjoy the spa!

Leave a Reply

