Starting with the Jewelry

November 27, 2007 at 7:50 pm (Parenting)

It was a big day for Natalie(5) – she got her ears pierced. That would be 11 years earlier than I was ever allowed to get my ears pierced (ahem…dad).

I didn’t do it when she was born – just figured I would wait until she wanted it done. She’s asked about it a few times before and I’ve explained to her that it will hurt a bit – kind of like getting a shot. That’s usually been enough for her to say never mind. But this time she said she still wanted to do it. We checked with dad lest he have any problems with it and he said he didn’t.

So I made plans with Stacey to go to the mall today so that a) we could finally catch up and have some hang time and b) I could have a photographer on hand. (THANKS STACE!) She recommended a place in the mall where her cousin took her daughter and they had two people on hand and did both ears at one time.

Unfortunately Natalie was not so lucky. In hindsight I should have asked the woman if an additional worker would be coming in later (since we would be at the mall for a bit) but I didn’t.

First Natty picked out some pretty gold crosses for the earrings (which just makes my heart melt – she loves here JESUS!) But they advised against it since they weren’t 14k gold which is better against infection (so why show them?) So instead we went with little red stones for Christmas (and bought a different pair of cross earrings for later because it was buy one, get one 1/2 off 🙂

Earpiercing

Sat her in my lap…cleaned ears…put dots to mark place…did first ear.

Earpiercing2

Much wailing and hand went straight to other ear and remained tightly clamped there! "I don’t want to do the other one!" she said over and over again. There was no reasoning with the girl at the time so she agreed that we would go play in the mall play area for a bit and then come back.

So we returned probably a good 45 minutes later (of course now there were 2 workers). The hand went back over the ear and despite my reasoning I ended up just having to hold her tight and pull her hand away (MAN, is she strong!) until it was done. She’ll probably be scarred for life.

Of course now she says "They’re ADORABLE mama!"

4 Comments

  1. Cathy Gumm said,

    Aunt Jenny was the same age when she got her ears pierced. That is very exciting for Natalie and mom too. The thing is Julie, you didn’t show us a picture of her earrings.

  2. green3 said,

    Funny! Or maybe not. Did I mention how much I appreciate having two boys? 🙂

  3. Aunt Jenny said,

    I couldn’t have been that old because I don’t remember the trauma of it all! My poor little niece, you should have taken her when she was a baby!

  4. Stacey said,

    It was so fun to be with you guys on such an important day in the life of Natalie! Thanks for asking me to come along… the boys and I had fun!!

Leave a Reply

