The Top of the Mountain

November 25, 2007 at 5:17 pm (Money)

UPDATED: If you want to know more about how we reached this goal, check
out Dave Ramsey. He’s got an awesome sale going on that ends today
(11/25). I suggest you start with "The Total Money Makeover" book and
workbook. You can snag both for a total of $20 (vs. $43 reg price). GO NOW!

It’s a mountain we started climbing about 7 years ago when hubby and I first began our quest to become debt free. We scaled the first peak fairly quickly, paying off everything but the house. We’ve moved twice since then but God continues to bless us.

We moved into our current house about 28 months ago after the incredible housing boom. (Read that whole story here.) Our goal when we moved in was to pay off the year in 2.5 years – or 30 months.

WE DID IT!!!!
Loan
(A little screen shot from the Wells Faro web site.)

It is officially PAID off and we are DEBT FREE!  Whooo hoo!

God’s blessings have been amazing as we’ve been on this journey. The story is long and involved and one I am working on putting in a book but suffice it to say that we cannot out give God and as we have tried to faithfully manage the money he has given us, he has poured out his blessings on us.

An interesting thing has happened on this journey to financial freedom. When we first started working Dave Ramsey’s plan I would say that our motivation was mostly to have more money and to live better by being out of debt. Not that I was dreaming of buying a Jag or a 6,000 sq ft home, but yes, I was looking forward to being able to afford nice things.

Well after 7 years of only paying cash for things and following a budget carefully (well, most of the time) and watching our "freedom" grow I’ve realized that I really don’t care about those things as much. Sure I still enjoy a new pair of shoes, a nice outfit, going on vacation. But I don’t care if I ever have a bigger home. I can’t imagine ever buying a vehicle more than about $15,000. Instead, I see the other things that money could be used for, either in our local community or around the world.

Now that we are debt free, what can we do for the kingdom of God?

 

7 Comments

  1. green3 said,

    You are an INSPIRATION! Congratulations! You must feel amazingly blessed today seeing that balance sitting at zero. I can’t wait to feel that.

  2. Meredith said,

    That zero balance is so cool! I’m very happy for you guys.

    I agree with green3…you are an inspiration!

  3. Blonde Chick said,

    Wow! We are working the Dave Ramsey plan also, and this is so motivating to me!

    Congratulations!

  4. leah belle said,

    Way to go!
    We just attended a “Journey to Financial Freedom” Seminar a couple of weeks ago and will begin our journey in Jan. I am so grateful for the wise tips and the scripture that we were given. I am excited to begin working toward being debt free!

  5. Theresa Locastro said,

    A-W-E-S-O-M-E! Pretend that’s me doing a cheer! 🙂

    How cool is that Jules? You have been a great example for John and I too. We are debt free as well and almost car debt free. I think the house is going to be a challenge but maybe when I go back to work we can tackle that one.

    Congratulations you to the both of you!!

  6. Kelley - O2BNAZ said,

    Congrats, Julie & Mark! I’m so proud of you guys! I hope we can follow in your faithful footsteps someday. We’ve only got the house to pay off, but it’s not a small mountain. And we still have to beef up our savings too. But it’s good to see that it can be done – for REAL.

  7. John (debt free) jones said,

    Wow, 2.5 years that’s incredible. It’s great to hear about other who have found the reward of living debt free. “The rich ruleth over the poor, and the borrower is servant to the lender.”

Leave a Reply

