I should have been there

October 19, 2007 at 4:43 pm (Money)

So a couple weeks ago almost everyone on the church staff went to the big Catalyst conference in Atlanta. I was invited to go along but had no one to watch the kids as my parents are still out of the country and my MIL was having knee replacement surgery.

So I wasn’t there when my husband got to meet the man who has probably had more influence on our lives than anyone except for God and our families. That man is Dave Ramsey.

I’m actually working on a book right now (it will probably become an e-book) that tells our financial story. But to make a long story short, 10 years ago my husband started to listening to Dave’s radio show. And we started following his steps. We brought Financial Peace University to our church, teaching it for a couple of years before handing it over to others.

We have a 3-6 month emergency fund in place and have been debt free except for our house for the last 6 years. And now, we are standing on the brink of true financial freedom. Within the next 4 weeks we will have our house paid off.

God has truly blessed us as we have honored him with our finances but we owe a big thank you to Dave too!

4 Comments

  1. green3 said,

    Oh, how I wish I could have learned about Dave 10 years ago! But then, I was young and dumb back then so I probably wouldn’t have done anything about it. I just found out about him this summer. I’ve turned into a Gazelle, though!

  2. Steven Farrar said,

    That’s really awesome. We are now debt free except the house, after finding Dave Ramsey (actually was included in the latest edition). It’s really neat to see how we may be, in about that same period of time, paying off the house, 6-7 years from now.

    Congratulations!

  3. Kelley - O2BNAZ said,

    Should’ve brought the kids to Atlanta with you – I would’ve watched them while you were at the conference!!

  4. traci said,

    dave ramsey spoke at my church a few months ago….he is awesome!! We go by his philosophy and even though finances will never be easy we are not in debt like most the world….YEAH

Leave a Reply

