40 Before 40

October 9, 2007 at 3:50 pm (Uncategorized)

Green 3 is hosting a carnival on her blog – she wants us to list 40 things we want to do before we’re 40. That’s sounds easier than it is, but here goes, we’ll see how many we can come up with.

  1. Pay off our house (which will be done next month hopefully so I can check one off).
  2. Take the kids to Disneyland
  3. Take hubby on a Scotland golfing trip.
  4. Go to Paris with Kristen for our 40th birthdays.
  5. Go to Italy w/ hubby w/o kids.
  6. Take the kids to go visit Aunt Jenny and Uncle Rob in England – we’re just waiting til their a little older.
  7. Own a convertible (well maybe before 50 at least)
  8. Get caught up on the kids scrapbooks.
  9. Find the correct way to channel my desire to write.
  10. Help others find financial peace like we have.
  11. Finish my master’s degree.
  12. Learn CSS
  13. Get the pavers laid in our backyard (they’ve been sitting in a pile for like a year).
  14. Teach something (not sure what or where)
  15. Go on a missions trip (hopefully more than one)
  16. Go to New York City at Christmas time with my mom.
  17. Get Kristen moved to Phoenix.
  18. Write a book
  19. Read the Bible front to back.
  20. Flip a house
  21. Meet Dave Ramsey (hubby did last week so I gotta too)
  22. Hire a maid
  23. Or figure out how to get my kids to clean the house
  24. Learn to let go a little re: the neatness of the house
  25. Have friends over for dinner more often
  26. Teach Noah how to ride his bike (actually I’d rather hubby do that)
  27. Learn how to keep the garage clean
  28. Get the extra washer out of my garage
  29. Ride a zip line (hopefully next month)
  30. Take the kids to the Grand Canyon
  31. Get back to saving for retirement
  32. Help my kids to mature spiritually
  33. Prepare my daughter for the years of teenage angst (how I’m not sure)
  34. Help build churches in third world countries
  35. Do more to help those in need
  36. Send more packages/letters to our other two kids (Marjorie and Estivan) whom we support through World Vision.
  37. Finish reading all of Karen Kingsbury’s books
  38. See our church move into a building
  39. See my kids run in the kids fountain that they’ve been giving money toward for the last several years (on the new campus).
  40. Do more public speaking
7 Comments

  1. green3 said,

    Ok, paying off your house NEXT MONTH?? You guys are awesome! And yes, I would love to meet Dave Ramsey as well. Did it give your husband any extra inspiration?

    Thanks for participating!!

  2. Meredith said,

    That’s a great list. And WOW, I can’t imagine having our house paid off. That would be incredible! Kudos to you guys.

  3. Stacey said,

    That is an awesome list! Knowing you, it won’t be hard to get those done! I’m so impressed with you and Mark sometimes. It’s amazing what you guys have been able to do!

  4. Kelley - O2BNAZ said,

    I don’t have that long before I’m 40, but I won’t even be done homeschooling by then. I’m about to turn 18 X 2 next month.

    I’d love to tag along on some of the things on your list, though (hypothetically). I’ll have to give some thought to my own list…

  5. AF Wife- Toni said,

    Wow! Now that’s a great list! Mine is up too!

  6. Jen said,

    That is a GREAT list! Now tha the house is paind off you can take all those great trips! I really want to do missions work too. Maybe one day we can do one together!? And I agree with all the great things I’ve heard about Kristen you definitely SHOULD get her moved down here. Make that nearer to the top of that list since it is a do-able one, I think.

  7. C D said,

    Hey ~ I’m a desertdiva blogger too… 😀 😀 and lived in Scotland, and have been to England… dh is Scottish (as in speaks with the accent, not as in “has genealogy ties” to the land)… I’m a Christian, and a friend of mine just this summer told me about Dave Ramsey, though I’ve not checked him out yet… dh and I did, however finally meet with a financial planner in May and had our emergency fund, which, before meeting with the financial guy we were calling our ‘down payment for a house’ fund…

    I’m at work and couldn’t remember my own blog’s url, so did a search and found you!

    I turn 40 next month and love the idea of the list — will have to modify it to another age… scary how fast time flies!

    Oh yeah, and I scrap, stamp and sing! 😀

Leave a Reply

