Growing Up

October 2, 2007 at 2:19 pm (Parenting)

Today my oldest turns 8. A couple nights ago when I was putting him to bed I was recounting the story of his birth – he loves that! It took us a year and a half of trying to get pregnant to finally have Noah. He was born in the great state of Texas which he loves to claim! He was 3 weeks early which was wonderful for me, and his grandma who happened to be in town and got to catch his arrival unplanned.

I never knew parenting would be this hard. I don’t know how much I thought about raising kids – it was always "having babies". Well they grow up and it only gets harder!

Noah is so incredibly bright that he gives mama a run for her money. He’s a whiz at Math and in the gifted program at school. He knows more about fighter jets than I ever imagined an 8-year-old brain could store (I think it’s a guy think – like football stats).

He’s incredibly inventive and has always loved building contraptions – from a very young age. You’d be amazed what he can do with some tape and string. I’m thinking he may be a future engineer, or architect, or inventor.

He loves back scratches (and claims only I give good ones) but HATES kisses! It’s like pulling teeth to get him to say "I love you" but I know he does.

He is a mini-evangelist and loves to tell his friends about Jesus and heaven.

We’ve had some difficult times along the way and he certainly challenges me as a parent to be consistent and loving.

I pray that as he grows he will continue to learn to love God and to rely on Him for wisdom. He has the potential to be an incredible leader and I am only to honored (and scared) to hold the responsibility of raising him up to be all that God has created him to be.

Happy Birthday Noah, I love you!

Noah8

1 Comment

  1. Cathy Gumm said,

    I can so relate to that since I raised his daddy! God is so good and so faithful!!!

Leave a Reply

