Funny How God Works

September 19, 2007 at 7:17 pm (Faith)

Yesterday morning I got an email from a friend asking for prayer regarding fear she had. She realized the fear was not coming from God, but from Satan (2 Tim 1:7 – "For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.") So I was tooling around the house cleaning (WAY overdue) praying for her and thinking about that verse. Little did I know how much I would need it just a few hours later.

Around lunch time my cell phone rang. I didn’t recognize the number so I hit "ignore" and a few minutes later checked the voice mail. It was my dad calling from Nairobi, Africa to say that my mom had to be hospitalized for a severe case of…well… the runs (I know, TMI). Normally this wouldn’t be a HUGE deal but my mom is a diabetic and something like this can affect her blood sugar levels quickly and can be quite dangerous. She has had one other really scary experience on one of her Africa trips 3 years ago. (She goes once a year for a medical missions trip.)

The info on my dad’s message was scant (you know men and details) – "it’s not diabetic, still running tests". Um, dad, not enough info.

I frantically tried to reach him at the "hotel" he had just called me from but no one was answering (but I wasn’t sure it wasn’t my long distance because the phone wasn’t "ringing" so much as it was "honking" at me). So I called my MIL who I knew would have an international calling card. Called again, much honking but no answer.

Despite the fact that it was 11 p.m. there I bit the bullet and called the number he gave me for my mom’s room. I did get through to her and she said hello a couple of times before silence. Called back AGAIN and reached a nurse who told me she fell asleep while on the phone.

Well thank goodness they don’t have HIPPA laws in Africa and the nurse was able to tell me that she was getting better, was able to eat some, but was very tired. That finally put my mind at rest enough that I could wait until a better time to reach them.

How quickly we can give in to a spirit of fear if we are not careful. It is especially difficult for me when it’s a situation that I can do NOTHING about…I’m a little bit of a control freak. Not that prayer is nothing but it has taken me a long time to get to the point where I can be okay with doing JUST that.

I did talk to my mom last night and she was feeling better and hopeful she would get out today. But I received an email from my dad this morning that said she had a setback and also had a low blood sugar crash. (This is the scary part.) The malaria test came back negative which is a huge praise. They are doing more tests and hopefully will have results tomorrow. Prayers would be appreciated! She said she is getting good care which is awesome.

3 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    I’m praying for your Mom Julie! I know how much she enjoys these missions trips. It’s so scary to think about her being sick so far away but I’m praying that you will have peace in your heart and know that God is in control!

  2. Brooke said,

    Praise the Lord for awesome medical prefessionals all over the world! He knows exactly what your mom needs, and how to get that to her. It is such a blessing to hear that she is doing better.

  3. Kelley - O2BNAZ said,

    I’ve felt that feeling of helplessness and fear before too. Too many times. It’s so hard to get good information when you’re not in the same place.

    Any updates on your mom?

Leave a Reply

