I became one of THOSE neighbors

September 16, 2007 at 12:35 am (Uncategorized)

Back in the days when hubby was in the military we would spend many an evening at our friends house sitting in their driveway hanging out in lawn chairs. We were generally a quiet bunch, we weren’t playing loud music and there was, at the most, six of us. But Steve and Rubi had a grouchy neighbor who would call the cops and complain about the "noise".  We would be annoyed and the cops would become annoyed when they realize that the "wild party" was six people sitting around talking.

But tonight, I finally became one of THOSE grouchy neighbors. When Noah-7 and I got home around 5 I noticed that there were quite a few cars in the neighborhood – 6 of them in one driveway. As the night when on more and more cars appeared. By Noah’s bedtime you could hear the music inside our house. Every couple minutes he would get up to complain about the noise. We already had the sound machine on in his room, plus the humidifier to try and drown out the noise.

Mark started to call the police but I said that maybe we should go down there and ask them first to turn it down.  But we didn’t and he went to bed with his ear plugs in.

At one point I turned on my front lights and went outside to the one car that was parked in front of our house and asked them to turn the radio down which they did.

But the people kept coming – radio’s going, tires squealing. By 11 p.m. I’d had enough. I confess. I called the cops. I don’t know if they ever did come by or if people just finally went home, but by about midnight it was quiet.

The lady I talked to at the police department took my name, address and phone and asked "Do you want officer contact?"

Um, no, I prefer they NOT know which house the grouchy neighbor lives in!

3 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    That is too funny! I probably would have called the cops, too. What else could you have done. I’m glad you didn’t make Mark go down and ask them to be quiet because that probably would have caused some issues between all of you!

  2. ~Amy said,

    i know how you feel!

    in our town the police won’t come unless you are willing to write a complaint. so, then they know who the grouchy neighbor is! 🙂
    ~Amy

  3. Marie said,

    That sounds like every night in my neighborhood. We are very quiet house mice, and we unwittingly moved to a neighborhood where every night means hoops, beer, and fistfights, and a one-year old’s birthday party turns into a drunken free-for-all into the wee hours of the morning.

Leave a Reply

