Adventures at the Laundromat

September 3, 2007 at 9:38 pm (Home)

Last week I was doing a few quick loads of laundry so that Natalie (4) would have clean clothes for her trip to Ark. w/ Grandma this week. At the end of drying the first load hubby noticed that it was smelling "not so fresh" in the laundry room….and the dryer was making a weird noise…and the clothes now smelled like hot asphalt.

The 3 of us probably could have lasted a few more days without doing laundry but Natalie needed clean clothes. And since Mark was preaching this weekend I knew he did not have time to either a) attempt to fix the dryer or b) shop for a new one (since this involves going to lots of thrift stores and various home improvement stores to see what open box returns they have).

So on Sunday afternoon I loaded up the van with clothes, hunted down every quarter in the house and made my way to the laundromat.

The last time I was in a laundromat was in college…in Ark. I think it cost $1.00 to wash and $.50 to dry. Boy have times changed. Oh, the choices.

1 load machine only $1.75
2 load machine – $2.25
all the way up to the grand mac daddy – the 5 load washer for $5.25

So I’m standing there with all my dirty clothes trying to figure out how many "loads" of each load I have. Only come to find out that the 1 load washer should actually be named the "2 pairs of jeans" washer because that was about all that would fit in that thing.

So the whites went in the 2 load, the lights in the 3 load and the darks got the privilege of the mac daddy 5 load machine. Added soap, closed the doors, sat down on the bench with my Diet Dr. Pepper, my Raisinets and a good Karen Kingsbury novel. When I glanced up a few minutes later I noticed that my washing machines were strangely still … and dry.

I punched a few buttons. I punched a few things that looked like buttons but really weren’t. Then finally I got smart and asked someone next to me. Turns out you have to turn the handle on the door to "lock" it. Um, that would have been nice to add to the instructions.

About 3 hours later I arrived home with loads of clean clothes, albeit a bit more wrinkled then when they are done at home, and a finished book to boot.

And now, dear hubby is out in the hot garage trying to fix my beloved dryer – because I really do love it. It has "Intellidry" so that it knows when my clothes are dry and doesn’t beep until they are. And it knows how much I hate to fold clothes and that I will ignore it the first 10 times it beeps at me and so it will automatically dry for another 60 seconds every 5 minutes for 2 whole hours. That’s 2 WHOLE HOURS I can ignore the dryer and it will keep my clothes from being wrinkled.

So in an effort to save some cash (cuz replacing it is $336) hubby has been searching online for people who’ve had similar problems and what they’ve done. He’s my hero.

Dryer

P.S. It bears mentioning that Hubby found this beloved dryer over a year ago at a thrift store for $30, and added a $60 part to get it working correctly.

6 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    Whoohooo now that’s a loving hubby! Hope you get that figured out because the intelli-dry feature and the 2 hr fluff feature sound quite nice!!

  2. Kelley - O2BNAZ said,

    What a blessing to have a handy husband. (Not that I don’t…just some are more handy than others – he tries, he really does, and he’s come a LONG way in the 14 years we’ve been married.)

    Ahem. You go, Mark!

  3. Brooke said,

    I just live 5 minutes from you, don’t you ever goto the laundramat ever again! I have the instructions all figured out over here.
    And I have plenty of good reads! Plus 2 little ones that would love to make your skin crawl, escpecially the little one!

  4. Brooke said,

    oh, and it’s free!

  5. Stacey said,

    You should have called me! My dryer is your dryer :o)

  6. Mark said,

    Its actually $450 for the intellidry & 2 hr fluff. The $336 doesn’t have the intellidry and only has 30 min fluff. Just for the record, I was sooo ready to spend that $450 the other night.

Leave a Reply

