Worship Music – Different Strokes for Different Folks

August 25, 2007 at 4:56 pm (Faith)

I grew up in a pretty traditional church – the kind that sang hymns, out of hymnals. I remember sometime toward the end of high school they transitioned toward praise choruses that were projected on screens. Oh my, the uproar it caused. And by praise choruses we’re still talking about some pretty tame stuff. But still, some people actually had the audacity to clap…in church…can you imagine???

Our church is definitely more contemporary and we totally rock out – in all 4 services. There is no traditional service and contemporary service. They are ALL contemporary. Our Worship Director Derek and the praise team do an awesome job. It is loud and it is beautiful. I personally connect way more with God through this kind of worship. Yes, we still sing some hymns, like Amazing Grace, or How Great Thou Art, but they’re definitely more rockin’ versions.

On the rare occasions when my parents come to our church instead of theirs, my dad turns his hearing aids off during the music portion 🙂 One day we had a conversation about music styles and what would be sung in heaven. I think he was concerned my children wouldn’t know any of the words. I had to tell him we’d be in the "contemporary worship" section of heaven but we’d come visit him in the "old-school" section once in awhile.

All that to say that I just found this awesome post on Perry Noble’s blog that talks about different worship styles, including those with a "Booming Sound System".

2 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    That is so funny about your Dad. I love that we can rock out in church! Derek is always bringing great music to our service! It is nice to sing a few of the old hymns here and there though 🙂

  2. Derrick said,

    YOU brought it this weekend! Thanks so much for sharing your story. It was incredible to see people releasing their baggage this weekend. Thanks for all you do!!!

    I’ll be with you and your kids in heaven… I don’t know the “old-school” words either… haha!

Leave a Reply

