Mexico Travel Advice?

August 24, 2007 at 7:10 pm (Travel)

A couple of years ago hubby and I went on one of those 3 day cruises from LA to Catalina Island and Ensenada, Mexico on Carnival Cruise Lines. I swore I would never cruise again.

We don’t drink, we don’t gamble and we’re particular about our entertainment – so that ruled out about 90% of the on-ship activities. I would have been perfectly content to sit on a chaise in the sun, read a book and work on my tan, except in order to keep from freezing I would have been wearing jeans and a jacket which kind of negates the whole point.

Mark was content to play NBA 2005 on his laptop for hours on end in our tiny cabin but I was ill-prepared w/ not enough reading material and I was bored.

Since that time hubby occasionally emails me cruise deals that sound interesting. And I reply back with some snarky comment like "Um, why would I want to do that again?"

But then a couple months ago we had the chance to get away and we went to our old standby – San Diego/Orange County – and we were bored. We decided we need to vacation elsewhere.

All that to say that we are giving cruising one more try – this time on Norwegian which has the freestyle cruising where you can eat wherever, whenever, etc. It’s 8 days in Mexico with stops in Acapulco, Puerto Vallarta, Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa and Cabo San Lucas.

So what I’m wondering is if anyone has any suggestions on must-see activities at those places. NCL has lots of shore excursions that sound interesting but I’m curious to hear ideas from other people.

2 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    So when are you leaving??

  2. Kelley - O2BNAZ said,

    I’ve never been to Mexico, and I’ve never been on a cruise before, so sorry I’m not much help.

Leave a Reply

