Back Among the Grown Ups

August 17, 2007 at 10:10 pm (Parenting)

I have joined the ranks of the office workers again. Even if only part time.

No part of my work day involves stretching tiny plastic clothes onto tiny plastic bodies called Polly or Lila. When I answer the phone I don’t have to wave my hands wildly in the air to get anybody to be quiet. I can actually drink an entire cup of coffee without having to reheat it 13 times. My conversations don’t revolve around trips to the potty and listing the entire contents of the pantry that are available for a snack.

It is bliss – at least for 15 hours a week.

It’s been almost 5 years since I had a job where I actually went to an office and worked with grown ups. I worked part time for our church doing graphic design for 3 1/2 years after Natalie was born, but always from home. I quit last June when they hired someone to work full time from the office. But now I’m back to help out. Since Natalie is in school 3 days a week it doesn’t take time away from the kids and I’m really looking forward to it. I get to see hubby at work (when he’s not in meetings) and the church office is just a really fun environment to work in.

I’ve only had one day so far but I’m loving it!

5 Comments

  1. Cheryl said,

    I worked in a Church office for many years and enjoyed it. Welcome to the world of big people…at least for a few hours a week!

  2. Kelley - O2BNAZ said,

    Glad to hear you’re enjoying your work time. My mom always loved her church secretary job – not always the work, but the whole environment and the people.

  3. Jenny said,

    It is a great environment to work in, best job I’ve had in England yet! I think this is the first job we’ve had in common, not the same job – but we both now work in a church office. 🙂 I’m so glad for your excitement and I know you will really enjoy it, and they are so lucky to have you. It will be exciting for you and Mark as well, despite not really liking the job – I really enjoyed working in the same place with Rob.

  4. Stacey said,

    Sounds like you’re really enjoying it there! Glad you’re getting out and making new “big people” friends 🙂

  5. Brooke said,

    Sounds great! I think the environment would be nice as well. Working diffinitely separates you from a childish world, and some of us could only dream for that time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

