The Anticipation of it All

August 7, 2007 at 11:34 am (Uncategorized)

T minus 21 and counting.

The anticipation is almost more than I can bear.

When we moved here two years ago it was just a big dirt lot – with a "Coming Soon" sign (obviously "soon" is a very subjective term).

Tomorrow, it opens. The mother ship.

Walmart

(Not the actual store, I’ll take a picture tomorrow for you.)

Now I know some people have a thing against Wal-Mart. But I shop where the best prices are and they are at Wal-Mart. Plus they price match. So I can take my store circulars in there and get all the best deals in one place without running all over town.

When we moved here two years ago they had just opened the grocery store that is on the other corner. It is a nice store and has a good selection of stuff including some housewares. But it’s my "I just need a couple of things" store. My big bi-weekly grocery shopping is done at Wal-Mart.

And now I will only have to drive about 3/4 mile. And it can become my "I just need a couple of things" too.

Oh, and that’s not it. In the same shopping center we now have/are getting Lowe’s, Office Max, Petsmart, Peter Piper (the kids are overjoyed), Chipotle (yeah for the parents), Wendy’s and Cracker Barrel.

Finally, living here is feeling a little less like living in the sticks.

4 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    Woohoo! How exciting is that? I’m going to have to come check it out. Maybe our Wal-mart will actually be a little less crowded now 🙂

  2. Brooke said,

    High five -I am so incredibly excited! I can say that I will save on gas, and that makes me so overjoyed that these places are opening. Can’t wait, maybe I will see you there tomorrow.

  3. Theresa Locastro said,

    Girl – I lived and felt your pain being “out there in the sticks”, so I am SOOO doing the happy dance for you right now!! 🙂

    Is there a Mickey D’s inside too? 🙂

  4. Kelley - O2BNAZ said,

    When we first moved here, there was a (pretty old) WM supercenter not too far from us, but its parking lot isn’t very well-lit, and it’s crowded and a little “scummy”. The kind of place people bring their kids not fully dressed, if you know what I mean. So, I, like you, was overjoyed when they built a sparkling new one a little closer. Welcome to civilization!

Leave a Reply

