Cooking and Freezing Meals Ahead of Time

July 29, 2007 at 2:33 pm (Home)

I came to a realization a few weeks ago. I don’t like to cook. I kind of like baking (desserts, etc.) but not cooking. The daily grind of having to figure out what’s for dinner and cook it. And why is it that this is usually the kid’s worst time of day when they are most likely to act up. That doesn’t help.

That factor, combined with the fact that I am going back to work part time when Natalie starts preschool in a few weeks, has led me to figure out what I can do to help with the whole dinner problem.

I’ve looked into companies like Entrees Made Easy. The food looks wonderful (although I’m not sure my family would eat all of it) and I’ve heard rave reviews from people who have used it.  They do all the prep, you just go, put the meals together and then take them home and freeze them. But it costs about $18-20 per meal – more than my grocery budget allows.

Sparked by someone’s blog post I have discovered a ton or resources out there for cooking ahead and freezing meals. Stuff that tells you what freezes good and what doesn’t.  How long you can freeze certain foods.

There are several cookbooks that sound interesting – a couple I can get at the library to try out.

The ladies who wrote the first book have a great web site with lots of info and recipes.

There are different ways you can accomplish the same thing – one big baking day, mini-sessions, etc. For now I think that as I menu plan I am going to see which recipes I am making that would be easy to double (or triple) with the extras to go in the freezer. Later if I get adventurous maybe I’ll schedule a big cooking day. You can even do it with a friend which I think would be fun.

7 Comments

  1. carrie said,

    Good post- I’ll be interested to hear the results of your cooking research- I really loathe cooking, and I’ve managed to con my husband into doing it through most of my pregnancy, but the good times are coming to an end 🙂

    And thanks for your comments on my post- I really appreciate the advice/input!

  2. Stacey said,

    That’s a great idea. I’ve actually heard about a group of women getting together and making a bunch of meal ahead that each of them can take home and freeze… like a cooking party! You’ll have to let me know if you find some good recipes!

  3. Lori - Queen of Dirty Laundry said,

    I think about doing this often – but never follow through. I’m like you, though; I don’t like the monotony of having to cook, Every Single Day!

    I especially like the idea of getting together with a friend and putting together a few meals. I still have hope that I’ll get around to it one day!

  4. Brooke said,

    I have tried a some of those ideas in the past. We will have to chat about them sometime. I will let you know how they went.

  5. Cathy Gumm said,

    Hollie is actually involved with a group of women that do a meal swap. Say I’m going to make a pasta dish so I let the group know and they each order so many servings (I think each serving feeds 4 or 6 people). Then you have a swap and there is some money involved but I don’t really know how that works. Anyway talk to Hollie because it has worked really well for them and they have been doing it for a couple years I think.

  6. green3 said,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and offering encouraging words toward being debt free! I’m having trouble getting hubby on board, “We’re doing just fine! I don’t know what you are worried about!” Umm…I’m worried about the 40,000 HELOC, in addition to my car, your mower, and our mortgage! We’re on our way, slowly but surely.

  7. Tina said,

    I’ve been saying that I am going to do this for a year now 🙂 I think I like the idea of doing with a friend. I think that would hold me accountable and be so much more fun!!

Leave a Reply

