Tattle Telling

July 12, 2007 at 4:48 pm (Parenting)

I’ve never held a real strong position on the whole tattle telling issue. Yes, there are days where it seems to go on and on and I’ll issue the "No more tattle telling" edict. But it’s not an all-the-time rule in our house. I guess I’ve just never thought about it much.

My friend Stacey is much stricter about this rule – last week a bunch of us had taken the kids to a fun place and her son Josh came into to me to tattle tell on something Noah had done to him. Stacey promptly stopped him, pulled him aside and talked to him. Life went on.

Then Sunday we were sitting in church and Pastor Greg mentioned the Biblical principle of resolving conflict with someone in Matthew 18:15-17 – it was kind of in passing, not the main point but it was like a light bulb went on over my head.

The whole tattle telling thing is the EXACT opposite of what the Bible tells us to do. I realize that with young children they need some conflict resolution coaching. And I’ve tried to teach my kids to figure out how to solve their problems. But this was one area where I hadn’t thought to tie it to scripture.

So my kids are going to get some lessons on Matthew 18 and mom’s going to become way more leary of tattle telling (unless blood is involved).

4 Comments

  1. Tina said,

    Great advice! Thanks! We are just now getting to that phase…

  2. Stacey said,

    I didn’t realize just how strict I was on this issue until recently so it’s funny you mention it. I’ve just been really trying to get it through my kids heads that it’s just not a good idea. Thanks for bringing in the Biblical view, I hadn’t really thought of it that way but I will now!

  3. Cindy said,

    Your blog today reminded me of a resource I used when our kids were young, and reminds me that now that my daughter has her own children I need to dig this out of storage and pass it along. I’ve seen my daughter use these principles with them already, so I know that they are well remembered.

    Below is a link to a book called For Instruction in Righteousness published by Doorposts. In this book you look up the topic that needs instruction or reinforcement and it will give you the appropriate Bible verse and stories and actions. This was such a great tool for us because I was a new Christian at the time and was not raised in a Christian home where these Biblical principles were taught.

    http://www.doorposts.net/instruct.asp

    PS- I have no affiliation with this ministry … just passing along information on a great resource that worked for my family.

  4. Tracy said,

    Something my parents did when my brothers and I would tattle was punishing the tattler (is that a word?). We knew from the get-go, if we told on our sibling not only would they NOT get punished for the infraction, WE would get punished for telling. It really made you stop and think. We have started this in our family but I love the idea of adding the Biblical view as well. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

