Could the end be almost here?

June 5, 2007 at 11:26 pm (Uncategorized)

Today I heard the most wonderful phrase in the world from my orthodontist…

"Next time we’ll see how that tooth is and then we’ll talk about getting them off."

I would have jumped out of my chair and hugged him but he had a big dental pick in my mouth and I would have hit my head on the giant light that was shining in my eye.

I got to go off my Rubber-Band-Diet  and just have to use a small band on each side to keep my now-perfect bite in alignment.

They reset one bracket today to move one of my front teeth slightly. When that is in the right spot  I AM DONE! So I get rechecked on the 27th and depending on my progress maybe I’ll get a removal date.

We talked retainers a bit. Apparently they now use permanent retainers on top and bottom that sit behind your teeth (no ruining that pretty new smile). That should help with my lack of self-discipline and should save hubby from having to nag me about wearing them. Then I guess there is a clear plastic retainer that is worn on the top only – all the time for first few months, then only at night.

Very exciting stuff!

3 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    So excited for you! I’m so jealous that you got to get braces and get your smile back 🙂 You can definitely see an improvement!!

  2. Kelley said,

    How exciting! Can’t wait to see the results.

    I have a permanent retainer on my bottom teeth. Sometimes I wish I could have it removed, but it’s probably best that it’s there. I guess it’s not so bad.

  3. Sincerely Anna said,

    I have my own long, sad saga about orthodontic work from my past…I got the permanent retainer on the bottom and it’s definitely a good thing.

    I enjoyed visiting your blog today!

Leave a Reply

