They really can do it!

May 31, 2007 at 9:25 pm (Parenting)

I’ve realized lately that I let my kids off entirely too easy in the "helping around the house category". I mean they have the basics of picking up toys, putting dirty clothes in the laundry, etc. I’m desperately trying to drill the "clean up after yourselves" idea into their head. But rarely do I make them do any REAL work.  I guess I’ve just been thinking "they’re too young" for way too long.

They are 7.5 and 4.5 respectively. And today they did laundry! They sorted all of their clothes into the appropriate color groups. I added them to the washer and put them from the washer into the dryer. (Because I really don’t want all my clothes shrunk to high heaven and trying to teach them what stuff hang dries just seemed like WAY too much work). But with each load of dry clothes that came out I yelled "laundry time" and they came running (well at least the 4.5 yr old) into the room to help. Each child pulled their clothes out, folded them and put them in "their" clothes basket.

Noah put all his shirts on hangers using this method I learned from the Lazy Organizer. Worked like a charm. At the end of the day I carried the full baskets upstairs for them and they put all their clean clothes away.

They really can do it!

3 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    That is so funny, we just made Josh a chore sheet this week and started making him help out more around the house. It’s funny how much we just do for them because we think it’s easier! I’m glad they’re getting old enough to help out more!!

  2. kburwick said,

    You’d be proud of me – my kids sorted laundry today. I’m gonna try to use that hanger method tomorrow. I’ll let you know how it goes…

  3. Jen said,

    That blog is awesome! I have been battling w/ the girls to take more responibility for their laundry. They “fold” and I refold then they drop half the pile on the way to their rooms, after that they shove the whole pile into the drawer which then cannot be closed. I think switching to hangers for most of their clothing items could save me some serious time and energy!

Leave a Reply

