A Vacation…from everything!

May 22, 2007 at 3:08 pm (Parenting)

Last weekend hubby and I were blessed to be able get away by ourselves for some R & R. The kiddos stayed with Meemaw and Pa and had an absolute blast. Before we dropped them off Natty said she wanted to stay there "for 100 days". She did change her mind but that’s how much she loves her grandparents. We are truly blessed to have both sets of parents in town who are so willing to keep the kids for us so that we can get away on these little (and sometimes longer) trips.

But tomorrow I leave for what I’m calling my "Vacation from Everything" vacation. I’ve tried explaining this one to my dear hubby but I’m not sure he gets it. Maybe you women will understand.

Vacation with the family is (for mom) a vacation from: cleaning the house, doing dishes, answering the phone (sort of). There are still fights to referee, kids to entertain, hubbies to entertain, etc.

Vacation with the hubby gets you a vacation from all of the above except for the last mentioned item (ahem!) There is still someone else there, someone else to plan around… I can’t tell you how many times we had this conversation last weekend:

"Where do you want to eat?"
"I don’t know, where do you want to eat?"
"I don’t care, really I have no preference. What sounds good to you?"
"Nothing in particular, what sounds good to you?"

See, still have to make decisions, accommodate the other person, etc. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE vacations with the hubby but there is something to be said for a vacation by yourself…or at least your longest-ever friend.

Tomorrow afternoon I will be winging my carefree self to Orlando, FL where I will meet up with Kristen (my best friend from college) and we will have 6 glorious days to ourselves on the beach (thanks to her grandma’s condo). We plan to relax, soak up some sun and scrapbook. (Please pray the airlines don’t weigh our bags – do you realize how heave 6 days of scrapbooking supplies are????) This will the first time she’s been away from her kids in about 5 years – she REALLY needs it.

Me, I’m fortunate in that I get to do this at least once, sometimes twice a year – usually to go see Kristen. Thanks mom and dad for helping with the kids. Thanks hubby for letting me go and holding down the fort here. I love you!

See you guys next week, hopefully with a nice tan and a very relaxed smile!

3 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    You’re gonna have a blast! Enjoy yourself and soak up some sun for me. I’ll try to wait until you get back to have this baby but there are no sure things in life 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear all about it!!

  2. Brooke said,

    I agree, have a blast, and get lots of sleep! Save some of the scrapping for us though! We need ya, and Stacey, don’t you dare have that baby before the 31th. I want to see him/her when shem is fresh!

  3. Kelley said,

    I’m so envious. Tell Kristen I said “hi.” Have a great week in the Sunshine state!

Leave a Reply

