Hurricane Gumm

May 14, 2007 at 8:57 am (Uncategorized)

I have this rule. I refuse to clean or do housework on my birthday or Mother’s Day. And since those 2 days were Friday and  Sunday respectively, and hubby had a rare day off on Saturday which we spent doing family stuff, my house looks like a tornado went through it.

Table


Yesterday’s lunch still on the table – the kids "took me" to McDonald’s. (Hubby was doing tear down at church.)

Kitchen

Yeah, I hate doing dishes. Amazingly, this was clean just 2 days ago and hubby even did a load of dishes in there somewhere. Where do they come from?
Stairs_2

A pile of stuff to go upstairs (and this is before I start picking up).
Den

The den – I can blame most of this mess on the kids, right?
Scrapbook

Except for this part. But I can blame this on projects in progress – for Mother’s Day gifts.
Family

At least the carpet is clean – with my new vacuum that hubby bought me for my birthday. (He obviously noticed that I kept kicking and yelling at the old one.)

So there it is. That’s what I’ll be doing today. Recovering from a weekend off.

5 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    You’re too funny! I bet the house doesn’t even look that bad.

  2. Cathy Gumm said,

    At least you won’t have to clean for the birthday/mother’s day celebration on Wednesday!

  3. Jen said,

    Good for a chuckle Julie!!

    Wow I do have to say for two days off I am impressed. That really doesn’t look soooo bad! My house would be quadruple the mess!

  4. katherine@raisingfive said,

    That’s so funny! I have to force myself not to think of what will inevitably await me if I take a day “off,” but sometimes a girl just has to do it. Hope you had a happy birthday! And and happy Mother’s Day!

  5. Tina said,

    I’ve been wanting a new vaccum but didn’t think of using the “kicking & yelling at the old one” method. I will be trying that out this week!

Leave a Reply

