If Only Someone Would Write the Check…

May 4, 2007 at 6:52 am (Parenting)

According to MSNBC, " if the typical stay-at-home mother in the United States were
paid for her work as a housekeeper, cook and psychologist among other
roles, she would earn $138,095 a year, according to research released
Wednesday.

The 10 jobs listed as comprising a mother’s work were housekeeper,
cook, day care center teacher, laundry machine operator, van driver,
facilities manager, janitor, computer operator, chief executive officer
and psychologist, it said.

The typical mother puts in a 92-hour work week, it said, working 40 hours at base pay and 52 hours overtime."

I wonder if that counts the 2 a.m. calls from a sick child?

3 Comments

  1. Brooke said,

    I have a sweet story for that…I was telling Wes what he could get me for Mother’s Day, b/c he always need ideas, and he said it would be X $, and I said is that too much, and he said “No, not for all the stuff you do around here, I was thinking I should spend more!” I got a kick out of it! Sometimes they do recognize how much we do at home.

  2. Stacey said,

    Jeff just came home today and told me that’s how much I should be making according to a new study. He said he agreed and thought all Moms should get paid to do what we do!!

  3. Cathy Gumm said,

    The question is, just who would be paying these mothers?

Leave a Reply

