Blonde Day

April 14, 2007 at 11:13 pm (Uncategorized)

File it under, "I Should Be a Blonde".

I made arrangements for 7 yr old son to spend the day with his grandpa so that I could take 4 yr old daughter to her friend’s birthday party. The party was way on the other side of town and to make matters worse a portion of the freeway was closed so I had to take surface roads. Took me nearly an hour to get there.

Then we spent 20 minutes wandering around this huge park where there were a gazillion parties going on while my daughter kept yelling out "Allllllly, Alllllllly." Called husband, got Ally’s mom’s phone number. Called and left message saying I couldn’t find them. Asked at the info booth – no Ally’s on the list.

Called husband back. "Um, what’s the date on the invitation."

"April 15th"

"Yeah, that’s tomorrow."

DUH! Called Ally’s mom back (and of course this time she answered) to say ignore my idiotic message from earlier – we’d be back tomorrow.

So tomorrow I get to do it all over again! Fun fun!

6 Comments

  1. Kelley said,

    No the totally blonde thing to do would have been to wander around the park the day AFTER the party had taken place. At least you get a second chance!

  2. Cathy Gumm said,

    I must say I really enjoyed this one. I love it when you do my kind of thing!!

  3. Lori - Queen of Dirty Laundry said,

    Big Daddy and I did this one time when we were going to attend a concert in a neighboring city. We got dressed all nice, drove 30 miles, and when we got there, nothing. Had to do it all over again the next night.

    I’m blonde sometimes, but Big Daddy doesn’t have hair, so he didn’t have an excuse.

  4. Stacey said,

    Wow, you poor thing! I bet Mark got a good laugh out of that one, didn’t he?? At least you get to still go. Hopefully this time with be better!!

  5. Stacey said,

    So did you find it the second day?? What kind of party was it?

  6. Theresa said,

    I’m not admitting I’m blonde or anything, but it sounds like something I would TOTALLY do!!

Leave a Reply

