The Rubber Band Diet

April 5, 2007 at 6:07 am (Fun)

So it seems like every time you turn around there’s some new diet. The Atkins Diet, the Grapefruit Diet, the South Beach Diet…

My new years resolution this year was to lose a few pounds (and I do mean few) but mostly to get in shape. We joined a gym and we had a free consultation with a personal trainer who outlined the many ways he could torture improve my body fat count, etc. For the bargain price of $400/month I could get once-weekly personalized training sessions and I’d be whipped into shape in no time.

Today, I found a new approach. It’ s much cheaper, there’s no sweating involved, no big hairy guys giving you the "once over", and very little pain.

It’s called The Rubber Band Diet…
Rubber_bands

Seriously, the pounds should melt away because this is what my mouth looks like now. See how wide it’s opened? (Not my lips – that’s purely for picture purposes, but the distance between my teeth). That is about how wide I can open my mouth. I was going to say that it’s wide enough for a straw but I tried that and it’s not.

Truth be told, the rubber band in the middle – the one that goes from the bottom, across the top 2 center teeth and back down – I only HAVE to wear that at night. Of course the more I wear it the faster the treatment.

If just the two side rubber bands are on I can open my mouth wide enough for a straw or a spoon, but barely. I now carefully weigh how hungry I am against the effort involved to decide if it’s worth it or not.

All this for the bargain price of $228 a month. Well actually that’s to get the teeth straightened, the diet plan is an extra bonus. I’ll let you know how much weight I lose in the next 4 weeks.

P.S. That is NOT a pimple in the bottom left corner! That is a mole!

(DISCLAIMER: Pimples appear in other locations, not pictured.)

2 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    I finally made it over here… wow, that’s one up close picture of your mouth! I think your teeth are looking great.

    I love the rubber band diet though! I’m gonna try that after my pregnancy is over 🙂

  2. Jen said,

    That is the BEST! ahahahaha Oh I so feel for ya!

    You can market this diet and be a kajillionaire!! You are so brave to take a close up photo like that!! Oh and I love the reference to the mole NOT being a pimple. So great! It defitely looks like a mole!

Leave a Reply

