WFMW – Car Edition

April 3, 2007 at 9:14 pm (Works For Me Wednesday)

Wfmwheader
It’s the car edition of Works for Me Wednesday! I had lots of ideas percolating in my head. Like how I carry a clipboard in the car (along with pencils and erasers) so if we have travel time my son can work on his homework.

Or that I finally learned to put a pair of scissors in the car. So when we’re at Wal-Mart and the child buys a toy with his/her hard-earned money when we get to the car I can break my way into the plastic wrapping I swear is designed specifically to try our patience. (And don’t even get me started on those twisty tie things!

But I think my best idea was these travel pillows that I made for the kids before we drove from Arizona to Arkansas right after Christmas. Both my kids are in high-back boosters that have those little "flaps" that come out, supposedly so they can rest their head on them. Well, after numerous trips to CA and listening to my kids moan about how they couldn’t get comfortable I knew I had to figure out something before the 38 hour (round trip) car ride.

I looked online and found a few travel pillows but none designed for use w/ those kind of seats. So I went to the fabric store and found some fleece remnants that were probably $3 total. And I made these:

Travelpillow

It’s about 4′ long, 12" wide and it’s stuffed fairly loosely so that the kids can bend it all around. It can go around their head or any which way they can put it.

More ideas at Shannon’s.

5 Comments

  1. Rae said,

    Great tips!! I’ll keep them in mind. Thanks for sharing! =)

  2. Pastormac's Ann said,

    These are great tips! Like your pillow. I hate watching that “head bobbing” thing that happens when the baby tries to sleep in the car seat.

  3. Stacey said,

    I like those pillows! I never knew you were so creative with pillows… you could sell those on ebay 🙂

  4. Mom of 3 said,

    Great idea! The pillow issue has been a problem for us too. Thanks!

  5. nikki said,

    Great, great tips! I love the pillow idea. And I’ve GOT to put a pair of scissors in my van too. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

