Cooking With Kids

March 6, 2007 at 8:10 pm (Works For Me Wednesday)

It’s the kitchen edition of Works For Me Wednesday. It was hard to decide what to share but since I used this one just today, it’s the winner.

Wfmwheader_3
My kids beg me to let them help with dinner. And most of the time I’m not patient enough to let them help. But I love Rachel Ray’s "Cooking Rocks" book. It’s divided into chapters by age group so there’s stuff for my 4 year old and stuff for my 7 yr old. Tonight we made meatloaf muffins. Yummy!

It will say when the kid needs to have the GH (grownup helper) do something and it even gives tips for the parents about encouraging kids to enjoy cooking.

RachelrayA side benefit seems to be that my kids are much more willing to try new things if they helped fix it. The above mentioned meatloaf muffins are a tad bit spicy which normally turns off my 7 year old, but he LOVES these!

Back to Shannon’s for more.

4 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    Meatloaf muffins?? I’m not sure I could eat them 🙂 I am interested in this book though and I’m going to check it out. Where did you get it?

  2. GiBee said,

    Excellent tip! I love cooking with my son … he’s only 17 months, but insists on sitting on the counter and helping me stir, or mix, etc. It’s okay with me, because it will probably heighten his desire to cook as he gets older!

  3. Larae said,

    I love this cookbook! Great tip! =)

  4. Leni said,

    Another one we’re enjoying is Emeril’s There’s a Chef in My World!

Leave a Reply

