My Daniel Fast

February 8, 2007 at 7:23 pm (Faith)

Two weeks ago I began to lead Beth Moore’s Daniel Bible Study for a small group of women in our church.

In lesson 1 of our Daniel study Beth challenged the
participants to join with her in some sort of “Daniel Fast”. Just as Daniel and
his friends gave up the King’s rich food, Beth decided that for the first six
weeks of the study (where we are studying integrity) she was going to forgo
rich meats.

It didn’t take too long for me to realize what it was I
should give up – TV. It’s perhaps my biggest vice. It probably has to do with
my deprivation growing up in a house where we could only watch an hour of TV a
day. Can you imagine the horrors? 🙂

My addiction is well varied – a few reality shows there, a
drama here, a crime show there, a decorating show, morning talk-shows…you know,
a little of everything. For awhile I was saved by the fact that I was too
forgetful to take out the Wiggles videotape and put in a blank VHS. Then we got
a DVR (like TiVo). And I was sunk.

Television became my respite. At the end of the day when the
kids were in bed, and I’d caught up on a little computer work, I would sit down
and enjoy an hour or two of my favorite programs (or 3 or 4). It was my way of
unwinding, not thinking, and not having to do ANYTHING!

I’m not saying there is anything wrong with watching
television. The Bible does tells us that we need to be careful about what we
put into our minds but television is not evil in itself.

But I had placed the television above Christ as a way to calm my weary soul at
the end of a hard day. I was turning off
my mind, instead of engaging it in a conversation with the true source of my
rest.

Isaiah 40:31 says, “But
those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they
will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

I struggled with exactly what commitment to make regarding
my television fast. A couple of months ago I made a halfway attempt when I deleted
DVR timers for most of my shows. With less recorded I definitely have spent
less time watching. I’ve prayed about it for a week and asked God to real show
me what I needed to do.

So my commitment is this…for the first six weeks of our
Daniel study:

No television at night, with the one exception of the one
show that my husband actually enjoys watching with me and is a fun thing we do
each week. BUT I won’t watch it unless I have already had my quiet time for
that day.

Secondly there is one show that I am particularly fond of,
in a “look forward to it all week, can’t wait til it’s on, don’t call me
between 9-10 p.m.” kind of a show. And that’s soooo NOT healthy. So I’m going to go without it. Completely! I
may have to lock myself in a closet and get down on my knees for 60 minutes
every Thursday night, but I’m going to do it! I suspect that at the end of 6
weeks I will be a LOT less attached to it and hopefully a WHOLE lot more attached
to my Savior.

My favorite point of our Daniel study so far is this
“Without resolve, we will loose our identity and our integrity.” I’m going to
be practicing my resolve a

LOT

these next
several weeks.

4 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    I’m glad you’ve made a commitment and are sticking with it! I hate to tell you this but I just got done watching the show you’re avoiding 🙂

    I know what you mean about watching too much TV and I’ve been thinking about it A Lot lately!

  2. Theresa said,

    I just completed a 3 week Daniel Fast from my old church. It was amazing. I didn’t blog about it because of the whole verse in Matthew 6 about doing it in secret. But I guess now that it’s over it’s okay to do. 🙂 I had no meat, sugar, white flour, caffeine, soda, etc. Only fruits and vegetables, water and herbal tea. I’m definitely going to try and do this once a quarter, but maybe not for so long. Good luck with yours and may your extreme obedience bring you extreme blessings! I know it did for me! 🙂

  3. Theresa said,

    K, I need to back up my comment after reading it that in NO WAY did I mean it was wrong for you to blog about your fast! I know several people that blogged about doing a version of the Daniel Fast at that is totally okay.

    I was coming from the fact that I was going to tell EVERYONE that I was doing it but realized I was telling for the wrong reasons. Does that make any sense? I think it is great that you posted about it and I hope others will get inspired to try it as well. I hope I made that a little clearer. Sometimes what we type and what we think comes out different than how we intended it to. So sorry if you felt judged by that last comment. That was not my intention. Now that I have hijacked your comments have a super week 🙂

    P.S. We all will post about that ‘Thursday night show’ so you don’t miss anything! 🙂

  4. Jenny said,

    I’m so excited for you Julie! I’ve just started realizing it’s not a matter of giving up something that isn’t good for you, necessarily, but having the discipline to give something up in order to focus more on a relationship with God. Enjoy your time with God!

Leave a Reply

