Is it or isn’t it?

February 5, 2007 at 6:18 am (Faith)

When perusing my local news site this morning this headline grabbed my attention…

Man guilty  in deaths of woman, fetus

In Sept. 2005 Jorge Mario Gurrola struck Monica Sanchez in the face twice causing severe brain damage and her death 2 days later. According to the story Sanchez was "nearly" two months pregnant at the time.

Thanks to a revision of Arizona state law in April 0f 2005, Gurrola was charged with not only the death of Sanchez but also of the unborn child.

Let me first say this…I’m all for the law in this case. But the hypocrisy of it just confounds me. So it’s a "life" if the person who murders it doesn’t have an "M.D." after his/her name?

The actual statue says…

A person commits second degree murder if without premeditation:

     1.  The person intentionally causes the death of another person, including an unborn
child or, as a result of intentionally causing the death of another person, causes the
death of an unborn child; or

then there’s some more stuff. But then there’s also the exceptions…

A person may not be prosecuted under this section if any of the
following applies:

     1.  The person was performing an abortion for which the consent of the pregnant
woman, or a person authorized by law to act on the pregnant woman’s behalf, has been
obtained or for which the consent was implied or authorized by law.

     2.  The person was performing medical treatment on the pregnant woman or the
pregnant woman’s unborn child.

     3.  The person was the unborn child’s mother.

Could someone please explain how they rationalize this? An approximatley 8 week old fetus is enough of a life to send someone to jail for ended it prematurely but it’s not enough of a life to keep the mother from choosing to end it?

I just don’t get it.

UPDATED TO ADD: I still get people viewing this post every once in awhile and it seems there might be some confusion on my stance on this issue. I FULLY support the sentence that Gurrola got because I support life. I believe that a baby is a life from the point of conception. My whole point was that the law seem to be two-faced in this area and allow a mother to choose to end the life with no consequence. That was my point. All life should be protected.

12 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    I’m with you on that one! I hate when they come up with stupid laws like this to make things “fit” the way they want. It just doesn’t make any sense!

  2. Tina said,

    I am with you 100% on this one.
    It really doesn’t make any sense!

  3. Kel said,

    Seems like the law protects some babies’ rights while trampling on others’ at the same time. It’s just not right. It’s insane.

  4. HolyMama! said,

    i know. so sad that our society condones and allows – even encourages murder.

  5. Mark said,

    When is a baby not a baby? See this blog post. Unbelievable!
    http://www.azpolicyblog.org/2007/03/when_is_a_baby_.html

  6. Ryan said,

    I do not agree!!! MONICA SANCHEZ was my friend and what Jorge did to her and her baby, he deserves to rot in jail. Abortion is a tough choice and in some cases(rape)is the responsible decision.

  7. A Friend said,

    Abortion is a choice. Monica wanted to have their 2nd child just has she did with their first child so yes it is a life. Different people perceive life differently. Those who who don’t want it don’t see view that fetus as a life, but those who value and love it see it has a life. Think about if it has a heart beat it is alive.

  8. ALEX said,

    8 week old fetus is NOT enough of a life to send someone to jail

  9. Naomi (Monica's cousin) said,

    If you do not believe that 8 weeks is not enough for someone to be sent to jail that is YOUR personal opinion. The judge in this ruling and the State of Arizona does NOT agree with you; he got 20 YEARS for the fetus LOOK IT UP.. LOOKS LIKE YOU’RE ON YOUR OWN ON THAT ONE!!

  10. A closer "FRIEND" said,

    I cant believe Monica even thought about starting a family with a animal like Jorge! I am almost positive that she herd and saw what he did to Candace. Sometimes I feel sad for Monica…………but on the other hand playing with fire,eventually you will get burned!!! I told Candace once,” If you dont leave him, he is going to end up killing you” I am happy she listened.

  11. Just Me said,

    All I can say is that I’m glad he is not getting off lightly. The girl he killed was my cousin. I hope he rots in jail. I hope that girls learn from this too. Guys who are jealous does not mean he loves you…he just wants to control you!

  12. april b said,

    I went to school with Monica, a lot of us did, and I believe this is her 4th year of not being on this earth anymore. That bastard should have been put in an electric chair after being castrated and let the Sanchez family watch him die. I hope he rots in hell

Leave a Reply

