Taking One for the Team

January 22, 2007 at 8:27 pm (Uncategorized)

Rb_1sheet_final_thumb
Friday night was date night and, as usual, we did dinner and a movie. The great part about it was that we used Christmas gift cards and the only thing we had to pay for was the babysitter.

The not so great part was our movie choice.

I should preface this with a few things. My husband, as most males, loves action movies. I think when we were dating I saw every Steven Segal movie ever made. And truth be told I began to like them (okay, not that last Segal movie, that was BAD) but action movies in general. I get just as excited as he does when a good new action flick is coming out.

But boxing movies do NOT count as action movies. At some point in our 17 year relationship I’ve seen at least Rocky 1 & 2. They were okay…whatever. So the new Rocky Balboa movie was out and I figured he’d want to see it, if for nothing else then for nostalgia. So I decided to take one for the team and go see it with him.

No, we weren’t expecting Oscar-caliber acting. The first clue should have been in the opening shots when it said "Written and directed by Slyvester Stallone". But seriously….SERIOUSLY…I was laughing so hard during some of the more serious monologues. It was SOOO bad. They spent an hour and 30 minutes of the movie talking about his now dead wife (from "woman cancer" – Rocky’s words not mine) and how his life is empty and his son has self-esteem issues because of living in his dad’s shadow. They didn’t get to the whole training/boxing thing until the last 25 minutes of the film. That part was, well, decent.

So, if any of you women were going to take one for the team. Don’t. If your husband’s don’t believe my account, they can go read my husbands.  I wouldn’t even rent this one!

2 Comments

  1. Shannon in Arizona said,

    my parents loved this movie and they went twice….LOL

  2. Stacey said,

    I actually wanted to go see it because I thought it would be pretty good. This just changed my mind!

Leave a Reply

