Paved with Good Intentions

January 16, 2007 at 6:06 pm (Uncategorized)

So I decided that with the new year, and a slightly different routine I was going to do my best to start exercising regularly. I cleared my schedule on M, W, F mornings, enrolled Natalie in a gymnastics class during one of those times and was very motivated. Last week was a great first week. I was enjoying myself, felt good, lots of energy. I even did Pilates at home on one of my days "off".

Then Saturday Natalie was running around the house in circles. I bent over to grab her as she ran past. I got stuck. Like "help, I can’t straighten up" S-T-U-C-K! Yes I did eventually get upright but only with much pain. The rest of the day was spent on shuffling around the house and sitting on a heating pad. Sunday was much of the same but I was feeling better. "I can do it, I can exercise on Monday. I’ll just take it easy."

NOT! Was even worse today. Luckily my chiropractor was in today so we schlepped the kids 45 minutes to see him (I should really find some one on this side of town). I’ll be back there again on Wed. In the meantime I’m trying not to let it get me down and sidetrack my great exercise plans. I’m praying I’ll be back to normal soon!

4 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    Man, I figured it was feeling better since you didn’t say anything yesterday. I’m so sorry you’re in pain still!

  2. Kel said,

    Ouch! Been there, done that! I hope you’re feeling better soon.

    Last year, I was walking with my friend around the neighborhood about 4 or 5 times a week. But my heel started hurting a lot, which also resulted in stiff ankles. So, I stayed off it for a few days and then tried again, but it seemed like every time I thought I was better and tried to start walking again, the pain would come back. So, I haven’t been walking in quite a while, but I’m thinking of trying again. I’m tired of seeing her out there without me!

  3. Cheryl said,

    Ick…I had something similar happen to me early fall. Are you alternating ice and heat? That’s what my chiropractor told me to do.

  4. Jennifer said,

    Gosh, I hope you feel better. Back problems are the pits. Especially since you were doing so good working out!!

Leave a Reply

