My Continuing Adventures in Orthodontia

January 10, 2007 at 12:29 pm (Uncategorized)

So this month officially marked the 1/2 way point of my 2 years with braces. All along treatment my computer records have shown a removal date of January ’08.

So yesterday I had a check up and vowed to ask the orthodontist if we were on schedule or PERHAPS a little early? The original "quote" was 18-24 months – I’ve just been planning on 24 so I’m not disappointed.

So while he’s got a mirror in my mouth I asked "Are we on schedule". He looked at the computer and said "Jan ’08 – oh no – we’re WAY ahead of schedule". The best words I’ve heard in a long time. He said they’re just "fine tuning" and "detailing" now. My upper teeth are a fraction off center from my bottom teeth. The answer – rubber bands. Yippee! NOT!

I mean, I knew they were coming. The one on the left doesn’t bother me. It goes from the back on the bottom to the side on the top. But on the right side I have a lovely rubber band triangle with one edge coming down toward the front side of my mouth. When I stick my tongue out (which I do often 🙂  It scrapes the rubber band. I can’t put a spoon in my mouth normally, it has to go in diagonally. I can’t lick my lips all the way around. And when I smile people probably think I have a piece of food hanging of my teeth.

But he said if I wear them 24/7 then we’ll be done "soon". Of course "soon" is kind of vague. Does that mean 3 months? 6 months? 9 months?

My next check up is in 4 weeks so maybe I’ll have a more definitive answer then. If I could have them off before my birthday in May that would be COOL!

1 Comment

  1. Stacey said,

    That would be a nice birthday gift, wouldn’t it? Glad to hear all is going smoothly. I know you’ve had some hard times with them but I know in the end you’ll be so happy! I can’t wait to get my teeth nice and straight!

Leave a Reply

