WFMW – Organizing Electric Cords

November 28, 2006 at 8:21 pm (Works For Me Wednesday)

Wfmw_7

Before a recent road trip I spent 30 minutes looking for the right power cord for the portable DVD player. After we got back I quickly remedied that with my handy Dymo Label Maker and started labeling the power cord with the appliance it goes to. I still have a few mystery cords. Next I think I’m going to label all the cords plugged into the surge strip under my desk. You know so you don’t have to do the "Honey, can you pull on the scanner cord so I can tell which one it is" trick 🙂

Head to Shannon’s for more WFMW ideas. But before you go, I have one important prayer request.

8 Comments

  1. Lady Why said,

    Great idea!! I love organization and I hadn’t thought about it for my jumble of cords. The old ‘out of sight, out of mind’ senario!! Thank you for inspiring me to get those cords organized!

  2. stacitee said,

    Great idea. My husband uses our label make to label all the cords at church, but I’ve never though of doing it at home. Thanks!

  3. Mieneke said,

    Very handy! No more “tag-teaming” when it comes to cable identifying! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pastormac's Ann said,

    Think I need to get myself a label maker.

  5. Shannon in Arizona said,

    Man I NEED a label maker!

  6. mari said,

    I love my label maker! I just put cords in little baggies and labeled the baggies, but I think that your idea is much better!

  7. Larae said,

    Great tip!

  8. stacey said,

    That’s a great idea Julie… now I just need a machine : )

Leave a Reply

