Cake of the Year

October 1, 2006 at 2:39 pm (Parenting)

So in the quest to be mom-of-the-year, I used to ALWAYS make my kids birthday cakes. Until I realized that they really don’t care. And it stresses me out. So about the time my son turned 4 I gave up and just ordered cakes from the grocery store or Sam’s club.

Well this year my friend Michelle did the cake. She’s fulfilling a long time dream and starting her own pastry/cake business that is really taking off. I’ve seen her cupcakes at parties – cool spider ones at Halloween, beautiful pink flowered ones for a baby shower – their almost too pretty to eat.

So Noah’s birthday theme this year was Lego Knight’s Kingdom. So my idea that I gave her was to do Jayko’s shield with the lion emblem on it. But she said she wanted to try a castle. Pretty ambitious I thought (not that I doubted she could pull it off, I just knew it would take her way more time).

And boy did she deliver! This has got to be, hands down, the coolest cake I’ve seen. Amazing details, the doors, windows, the shield at the back. The blue "moat" around the cake. My favorite part, the scroll on the top with the happy birthday message.

Cake1

Cake2

You rock Michelle! The kids all thought the cake was awesome (tasted good too). If you happen to live in AZ and need a cake, let me know and I’ll put you in touch. (I’d link to her web site but I’m still designing it 🙂

3 Comments

  1. Shannon in Arizona said,

    holy smokes that looks cool

  2. Stacey said,

    That cake was awesome! Great job Michelle!!

  3. Theresa said,

    Happy belated birthday Noah! And I agree that cake looks great.

Leave a Reply

