Works For Me Wednesday – Buttermilk Substitute

September 12, 2006 at 9:48 pm (Works For Me Wednesday)

Wfmw_7
It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a WFMW idea – too much going on to remember. But here I am with one little tidbit.

If you’re like me you rarely use buttermilk, so it’s never on hand. And usually when I need it I’m making something spur of the moment like banana bread or a quick cake and so it wasn’t on my grocery list. Well my mom taught me this one…it’s also in the good ‘ol Betty Crocker notebook:

1 tablespoon vinegar or lemon juice + enough milk to make 1 c. – voila = BUTTERMILK

(I haven’t done a taste test so I don’t know how close it tastes to real buttermilk (EW!) but the end product turns out great). I use vinegar because I always have a huge jug around since I also use it for cleaning.

Head to Shannon’s for more WFMW ideas.

8 Comments

  1. Kelley said,

    I do this substitute a lot too, but I think I’ve heard that you’re supposed to “let it stand” for 5 minutes. Don’t know why though.

  2. Barbara H. said,

    That’s good to know. We don’t drink buttermilk either (blech!) but do have a few recipes that call for it.

    They also make a powdered buttermilk (just add water), but we don’t use it enough to buy the canister.

  3. Kilikina said,

    I love this tip, I use it too!
    Kilikina

  4. Stacey said,

    I never make anything with buttermilk so I’ve never heard this tip before. I’ll have to find a recipe and try it someday : )

    Did you say buttermilk in your banana bread??

  5. Beck said,

    That’s a smart tip to know. I’m trying to get into the habit of occasionally buying buttermilk and then planning several things to do with it so I don’t have nasty buttermilk getting nastier in my fridge!

  6. EaglesWings98 said,

    Love the idea, never new that you could make a substitute for buttermilk. Thanks for sharing, because I am always reading recipes and saying well I don’t have buttermilk – can’t make that…
    THANK YOU THANK YOU!

  7. mark said,

    So why don’t they call it bittermilk?? I remember drinking it once from my grandma’s frig when I was a kid and just hearing the word makes me start to gag… gotta run to the sink.

  8. EaglesWings said,

    Yeah I found it again! I wrote it down but couldn’t find it! Needed this today for Banana Bread!
    Thank you thank you!
    EaglesWings

Leave a Reply

