Old Friends

September 3, 2006 at 6:15 am (Uncategorized)

So how old is your oldest friend? And family members don’t count.

This week I had the great fun of having lunch with a girl that I have known since grade school – I think 5th grade although I’d have to see if she remembers exactly. There was a gang of 4 of us, and later 5 that hung out until 10th grade. Then our high school closed and we all went our separate ways. One girl I’ve seen off and on over the years. One I haven’t seen since my wedding 13 years ago. One I didn’t see for the better part of 15 years and have seen twice since.

Angela I had not seen since ’91. Three years ago when I sent out our annual Christmas letter (and she was still on the list) that mentioned our move (not this one, the one before) she emailed me and said "Hey, I live two streets over from you." The usual "we should get together" emails went back and forth. And we really did mean to…but we didn’t.

Two years later we moved. Angela and I had still not gotten together. It’s really pretty pathetic and neither one of us had a good excuse other than just being busy.

So a couple of weeks ago Natalie and I arrive at her first day of preschool. As I’m crossing the playground I hear a voice. A voice I would have known anywhere. Of course I had to keep walking and then casually turn around so I could be sure it was really her before I made an idiot of myself. And it was Angela.

So no more excuses, we arranged to have lunch last Tues after dropping the girls off and we had a great time catching up. And I kind of realized why it had taken us so long. Because when I think about it, of all the friends I have from grade school and high school, there are so many whose lives are just so different from mine, in a lot of ways, but mostly spiritually. And while it’s fun to catch up and reminisce, I have so little time and energy that I choose to spend it with those in my current circle of friends.

Angela is definitely NOT one of those people and I look forward to renewing our friendship and having many more kid-free lunches together!

3 Comments

  1. Kelley said,

    Sounds like a fun “reunion” for you & Angela!

    My “oldest” friend with whom I still communicate is Kim. We met in 5th grade, so we’ve been friends for about 25 years. (Man, THAT is painful to say!) Even though we live at opposite ends of the country, (me in GA, her in CA), each time we talk, we pick up right where we left off. I just wish she would be “online” more…she doesn’t do blogging OR e-mail. (Maybe her 18-month old twins have something to do with that!)

  2. Stacey said,

    My oldest friends are Angie and Heather. Angie grew up next door to me and we played from the time we were in diapers. I still talk to her to this day. Heather has been my friend since diapers, too. We used to play together each week in the church nursery. Her and I still talk every couple weeks or so.

    Old friends are always great but I like my new ones, too!!

  3. Tera said,

    my oldest friend is Karmen from Kindergarten, we have been through many difficult life experiences together and have a strong bond to this day. although there are speculations that my husband and I (who have many family connections going back through generations) may have been in a church nursery together, weird I know!

Leave a Reply

