Wickedly Delightful!

August 31, 2006 at 10:02 pm (Uncategorized)

I had a real treat the other night that was two-fold.

First, I got to have dinner with my mom, just the two of us. Although we live in the same town and I see her frequently it is usually to pick up or drop off a kid or at a family gathering. We rarely get the opportunity to sit down just the two of us and catch up. We had a great time over a pizza and got caught up on life and I got to hear about the plans her and my dad have for a 5-week trip to England, Scotland and Ireland.  I feel blessed to have such a great relationship with my mom. We have a lot of shared interests (secondhand furniture shopping) and I know that I can always get wise counsel from her. She’s a great sounding board and I love getting her perspective on things that are going on.

Wicked_1
The second part of the evening was spent seeing "Wicked
"! It was a blast! I actually saw "Wicked" on Broadway about 2 years ago with my SIL Jenny and we loved it. Hands down, my favorite show. It’s funny, it’s creative and the music is spectacular. For those of you who have not heard about it, it is basically the prequel to "The Wizard of Oz".

"Long before Dorothy dropped in, two other girls meet in the Land of Oz. One, born with emerald-green skin, is smart, fiery and misunderstood. The other is beautiful, ambitious and very popular. How these two unlikely friends end up as the Wicked Witch of the West and Glinda the Good Witch makes for the most spellbinding new musical in years." –from the official web site

When I heard it was coming to town I told Stacey it was a must and we decided to take our moms too. If you get a chance to see this show don’t pass it up. And buy tickets early. They WILL sell out!

3 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    What a blast it was! I really enjoyed being there with you and my Mom… it was like a two-for-one!! I’m so glad you invited me, that was one of the best I’ve ever seen!!

  2. Jenny said,

    Oooh. I’ve been dying to see it – I’ll have to check and see when it’s coming to town around here. Did you read the book?

  3. Lauren said,

    I never heard of Wicked. I think I’ll google it. Sounds like a fun time though.

Leave a Reply

