Um, duh!

August 23, 2006 at 9:09 pm (Fun)

A year or so ago we finally broke down and bought a DVD player for the car. Friends bought a set from Wal-Mart that had the two screens and the built in video games and had had good luck with it.

That summer my in-laws were taken my son on a road trip to Arkansas to see his cousins. They would be gone about 11 days. We figured the least we could do was send a DVD player along, so we made the purchase. We also bought and extended warranty from Wal-Mart which we usually don’t do.

When they got back from the trip my mother in law said that one of the screens had started playing in black and white instead of color. Over the next few months I observed it a couple of times. Sometimes it was in color, sometimes black and white. I looked through the manual to see if there were any troubleshooting tips but nothing regarding loss of color.

Well, before a 6 hr plane ride with my 3 year old, during which I knew I would lose my mind if I did not have the DVD player, I knew I needed to get it fixed. I called the warranty company and they  sent me a nice postage-paid label to use. I carefully packed it up with a note about what was wrong. They said they would either fix it or replace it.

A couple of weeks later the unit came back with this note.

"Unit tested. Works fine. Owner can adjust color with "Color" knob on side of screen."

Oh.

Duh.

They should really put that in the manual 🙂

6 Comments

  1. Shannon in Arizona said,

    Haaaa haaaaa that was funny……

  2. Stacey said,

    That is too funny! That acutally sounds like something I would do!!

  3. Tina said,

    That was great!
    You probably made somebody smile when they wrote the note…or maybe laugh! 🙂

  4. Antique Mommy said,

    Sounds like something I would do. I think they make electronics in such a way to confound the easily confoundable like me.

  5. Cathy said,

    I feel so mcuh better knowing that even you get confused sometimes by these things. I did pretty well with the satellite this time!

  6. Fisher Family said,

    This is so funny! Thank you for the great laugh…and beleive me THAT is me! 😉

Leave a Reply

