It’s a Vegetable … sort of

August 11, 2006 at 10:31 am (Parenting)

Pickle_2
My daughter is a pickle lover. If I let her, she would sit down with an entire jar of sweet baby dills and fill her face. And it’s not just that she likes pickles, she has become a pickle snob like her dad.

Hubby has to have Vlasic Baby Kosher Dills – no exceptions. If he is actually shopping with me (a rarity) he will stand in front of the pickle section and examine each jar of the appropriate pickles. He analyzes size, color, plumpness…all in the quest for the perfect jar of pickles. This can, and I’m not kidding, take 10-15 minutes. This is why I shop alone 🙂

In the beginning when we discovered Natty like pickles I bought her the cheap generic kind and hubby the good stuff. But one taste of "daddy’s pickles" and she suddenly became picky about the quality of her pickles. She would always say "Can I have a pickle mommy? But it has to be one of daddy’s pickles." So I’ve stopped buying two kinds, now I just buy 2 jars of Vlasic because, yes, we go through them THAT fast.

My thought all along has been "well, pickles are made from a cucmber so at least she’s getting extra vegetables". Well, not really. According to the USDA/ARS
Children’s Nutrition Research Center at Baylor College
of Medicine

"But, because pickles and cucumbers consist mainly of water, they offer little nutritional value.  With no protein and just a small amount of calcium and only a trace of iron, pickles are not considered a "vegetable choice" in the School Lunch Program. 
  So, nutritionally speaking, there are better choices that provide  the vitamins and minerals necessary for health. And, by the way, one whole dill pickle can provide nearly half an adult’s daily suggested supply of sodium."

So I suppose that letting her drink the pickle juice out of the jar (which I find appalling) is probably like letting her drink salt water.

8 Comments

  1. Shannon in Surprise Arizona said,

    Haaaa haaaa this cracked me up. I like the Dill juice from the jar and I like to eat baby sweet pickles but they can’t be to soft or I wont eat them. I also love the pickles you get in the little bags at the deli. I like mine to be bright in color and crispy….soooooo there are picky pickle eaters everywhere 🙂
    The info about the pickle was good I always thought it was good for you…..

  2. Stacey said,

    You are too funny! I can’t believe that pickles are that bad for you. Won’t stop me from eating one next time and I might just drink a little juice, too : )-

  3. Tina said,

    Pickles…there are definitely good ones and not so good ones!
    I too am very picky about the ones I buy…
    I think I am going to go have one now…

  4. Lauren said,

    And next they’re gonna tell us that black olives aren’t really a vegetable either. I’m not listening, [fingers in ears] lalalalalalalala. If it weren’t for pickles and black olives my daughter wouldn’t be eating any vegetables.

  5. Wystful 1 said,

    Oh….but, but!!! Dill pickle juice from the bottle is SOOOOOOOOOO good! (and I know, I know lots of salt, but yummy)

  6. Jenny said,

    Mmmmm…Pickles!! It runs in the family! You just reminded me of something else they don’t do right here in England. They don’t have all these choices, a pickle is just a pickle here – actually not even a pickle, it’s called some other funny name and I can’t even remember it. Now I know why I love it so much, all that salt. Pickle juice out of the jar with a straw… nothing better 🙂

  7. Mark said,

    Thanks to all you pickle-lovers that have come to my defense… Julie has never understood the concept that not all pickles are created equal. Vlasic, crunchy with a little zing – now that’s a real pickle. I would drink the whole jar of juice at once, but then there would be nothing to keep them crunchy and flavorful, so the trick is to eat several pickles so that you can drink the juice down. Jen- I’ve never tried thru a straw – Great idea!!

  8. Cathy said,

    It really does run in the family Julie but I have to say that when I was growing up I used to eat them (sliced) out of the gallon jar at G&G Tuttle’s restaurant. I also drink the juice but it is Bill who stands in the pickle isle for 10-15 min. to pick out the perfect jar of pickles.

Leave a Reply

