Works for Me Wed – Junk Mail

August 8, 2006 at 10:08 pm (Works For Me Wednesday)

Wfmw_6

I have to give credit for this one to my mother-in-law. Know those pesky credit card offers that you’re always getting in the mail? Well besides being annoying the CAN create a security risk. Many come with cards already in the envelope. If your mail is stolen, voila, it makes it easier for them to secure credit in your name.

So each time I get one of these offers I right "VOID. REMOVE FROM MAILING LIST" really big over the application part. Then I put everything back into the POSTAGE PAID envelope they provide. And I do mean everything, including any inserts and the original envelope (which you have to fold up). Then the CC company gets to pay the postage on it and by law are required to remove me from their mailing list when they receive my request.

After a few months of doing this you will find that the number of junk offers dwindles dramatically. Of course each time we move I have to start over.

And no, I have no idea how to get AOL to stop sending you those CDs 🙂

19 Comments

  1. Overwhelmed! said,

    What a great idea! I usually just shred these offers and they keep coming back. I’ll try this!

    I’ve posted a WFMW tip as well. Stop by and take a peek. 🙂

  2. Trisha said,

    Excellent idea. I’ll definately pass this one along.

  3. Shannon in Surprise, Arizona said,

    Good idea………I HATE all of those credit card offers….I get sooo many of them too. Those AOL CD’s seem like a waste of advert money on all that “pretty” packaging.

  4. Faith said,

    I never thought of doing that. I just always rip it up! I’ll try this instead. I like it!!!

  5. Home Sweet Homeschool said,

    Great idea… I love that they pay for the postage to have it sent back. I’m going to try this.

    Thanks again,
    Theresa

  6. the "other" Sarah said,

    What a great idea. I always just tear them up, too. But I like that they have to pay postage *and* take me off their list! I’ll be trying that soon.

  7. Theresa said,

    Good one, I’ll have to tell John…he gets SO annoyed by them.

    (I see you got up there “first” – you over-achiever! LOL!)

  8. Mrs. Happy Housewife said,

    What a wonderful idea! Thanks! I can’t wait to start doing this.

  9. MamaDuck said,

    ROTFL, that’s a great idea!! You can call the number on the back of the offer to opt out, and that decreased the offers dramatically as well.

  10. Katrina said,

    Very clever. I used to do this, but have slacked off lately. I’ll have to get back to it!

  11. Carrie said,

    Ha! I was just thinking that Dave Ramsey would love this and I see you’ve got a link to him over on the side of your blog. We are moving soon, I will do this!

  12. udandi said,

    Good idea! I normally take the fake card or magnet out, do a craft and shred the papers.

    My WFMW post has a photo that shows some my credit card swag!

  13. Shalee said,

    Oh my. That’s a great tip. Plus they have the burden of paying for the junk mail again.

  14. Rhonda said,

    Awesome idea! I have a stack waiting to shred. I’ll do this instead.

  15. Pieces said,

    Super idea!

  16. Susan said,

    They also have in the small print a “Unsubscribe” phone number that I recently tried but I love the thought of them paying thier postage. Great idea!

  17. Emily said,

    I love the idea of requesting to be removed from the list, but had to throw this out there. Apparently on PBS some time ago, there was a program that recommended this, but it’s only good if you’ve got a bit of free time (I did it while watching TV for a while): take the postage paid envelope from these credit card offers, shred anything with personal information, and fill these envelopes TO THE BRIM with other junk mail. As full as you can make it. Supposedly, these companies pay by the pound for this junk mail to come back to them.

  18. Larae said,

    Thanks for the idea! I’m getting tired of just shredding them all =)

  19. Stacey said,

    I love this idea and I’ve been using it since you showed me like two years ago : )

    Theresa, she has a system for getting in first!!

Leave a Reply

