Works For Me Wednesday – Purse Storage

July 19, 2006 at 12:01 am (Works For Me Wednesday)

Wfmw_3

Hi, my name is Julie and I have a purse addiction.

I can say this without shame because I supply my addiction from thrift stores and clearance racks. Of all my purses I don’t think I’ve paid over $10 for more than 1 or 2 of them (the Kate Spade knock off from NYC and the Gucci knock off fom Mexico). Most of them have been in the $5 range.

They were piled on my closet floor, spilling out of the shelf underneath my clothes and stuck under the bed. I was desperate for a better solution so I turned to the wasted space inside my closet abovethe sliding closet doors. My first attempt was with hooks but it didn’t work so well. They hung down too far and were too hard to get down.

So Stacey helped me with this brillant idea. I bought 3 of these shelves from Target (by ClosetMaid) that can be hung either the way I have them or like a regular shelf (flat on top). They are PERFECT. I can reach the purses, I can see everything so I use them more often and they were super easy to hang up. All for $36. If purses aren’t your problem it would work great for other things as well. Might as well use all the space you have.

Pursestorage

Hop on over to Shannon’s to see all the other WFMW ideas.

16 Comments

  1. owlhaven said,

    This idea would work for lots of things besides purses!

    Great!

    Mary, mom to many

  2. Mieneke said,

    I’m thinking this would be a great idea for storing towels in the bathroom…. Thanks!

  3. Stacey said,

    I’m just glad it worked out for you!

  4. Joy said,

    I like it!! I was just thinking today, I need to branch out and buy a funky purse. My sense of style is somewhat lacking, I’ve only ever had one purse, and that one was not stylish at all!!
    Thanks for the tip, now to buy the purses!!
    Blessings!

  5. Connie Jardim said,

    Great tip!
    I also have a purse addiction – and also justify it by getting most at thrift stores. I can’t imagine only having 1 purse…it almost gives me the chills just thinking about it.
    I keep mine hanging on brass hooks along the side and back of my closets. Probably not the most efficient but right now it does the job.

  6. Overwhelmed! said,

    What a great idea! Thanks for the tip.

    I’ve posted a WFMW tip as well. Stop by and take a peek. 🙂

  7. Shalee said,

    This idea is wonderful, even if I don’t have a purse fetish. I can definitely use it for other storage too.

  8. GranolaGirl said,

    Love it! The fact that you can see them from below really helps too. Great job!

  9. lady laura said,

    Love this idea! Thanks=)

  10. Alex said,

    Currently, I am in an epic battle with my closet and the things that should go in them. I will definately use this weapon in the WAR-AGAINST-MY-THINGS! THanks.
    Alex

  11. Org Junkie said,

    This is FANTASTIC! Love it, love it, love it!

  12. Amelia said,

    My closet is definitely too small, but I will be looking for wasted space elsewhere to use like this!! We always forget about up high!

  13. udandi said,

    Very clever. I just did the Russian Doll style of storing purses: little one inside bigger one, inside bigger one…

  14. Stacey said,

    Wow, 13 comments… you’re getting pretty popular, huh??

  15. Katherine said,

    That is very cool. I just plain have too much STUFF in my closet. This handy shelf could be a lifesaver! Thanks!

  16. Cass said,

    That’s a great idea. I too am a bag whore; however I try to limit my purse-buying because I never use them all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

