Where Have I Been?

July 15, 2006 at 8:29 pm (Home)

Well I took the week off from blogosphere, but with good reason. Well reasons. First I was out of town for a couple days. Second, my kids were gone all week. The grandparents took them up north to the family cabin. And so I set out to do all the things that you can’t (or don’t want to attempt) to do with kids. Oh, and hubby was gone too so it was really just ME time.

I had a leisurely afternoon of shopping at IKEA where I got some killer deals. I spent a morning at Home Depot buying lumber for the storage shed floor, chair rail for my daughter’s room, paint for the pergola, etc.

I did a late night scrap-a-thon and stayed up til 2 a.m. Which meant I slept  in until 11 a.m. It was heavenly!

But my biggest project was the complete makeover of our bedroom. Well sort of complete. The paint was already on the walls. A few months ago I started painting all our pine bedroom set black. I got the nightstands and blanket chest done but had not gotten to the 2 large dressers.

Here’s what it looked like at the beginning of the week.

Bdrm_before

I found beautiful blue velvet curtains at IKEA marked down from $60/pair to $25/pair. Painted some picture frames black, a few new accessories and tah dah…

Bedrm_after_3

My total costs – curtains, pictures, paint, drawer hardware, accessories was probably around $250. Way cheaper than buying a whole new bedroom set 🙂

3 Comments

  1. chilihead said,

    Wow! That looks great!

  2. Stacey said,

    Lookin’ good!! Glad to see you got it all done. I think you forgot to mention the girl’s night with pedicures, take-out and a movie : )

  3. udandi said,

    Looks great! did you remove the TV or just place it some where it wasn’t in the photos? just curious 🙂

Leave a Reply

